Families logo

Being "That" Mom: Revisited

Three years flies by

By Jenn PautschPublished 2 years ago 5 min read

Three years ago, I wrote a short blog about being that baseball mom. I talked of the beginnings of it all, and how important those teams become. I vaguely remember the writing of it, and reading it again brought me back to that time in our lives. So sweet, and a great thing to remember.

Fast forward to today. My second son, the one I thought would be a better technical player had his championship game today, against a team that went 1-1 with during the regular season. They lost to them earlier in the playoffs and came back through the loser bracket to face them again. Now our boys, this team in 2022, are no joke. These kids are total rock stars. This was the second year for most of them in this age group, kids who moved up and filled a roster that was vacated by almost an entire team when my older son and his teammates moved up. An entire team that was AMAZING. And these boys stepped into that shadow, and as a young team went all the way to second place last year. This year, they also got second place. Second place against a team that demolished them in the first playoff game. Today was not that game. Our boys held the score low, battled back to tie it up, never gave up, and forced the other team to come take this win. While it was heartbreaking in a way, those kids have everything to be proud of. They never gave up, not once. They battled and fought their way through the game and almost forced a tie breaker. One run was all they lost by. It was epic.

For me, it is bittersweet. This marks the end of four straight years with this team. For four years I have been a Lombardi parent, and now I am not. Even though this organization keeps their alumni close and stays in contact over the years, I am not an active parent anymore. I have one more boy who might someday play for them. As a sibling of past players, he has that option. So, it might not be quite over with them yet. In the last four years, we have had four solid and unbelievable teams. We have ended our year with two 3rd place finishes, and two 2nd place finishes as well. The elusive championship keeps evading us, proving that much as the football saying goes "Any given Sunday" is a real thing.

And while championships are fine and dandy, we don't even care. Sure, there is disappointment and tears have been shed. What truly matters though, is that my boys had four amazing years with the best coach I could have ever asked for. Even after my oldest moved up, he came and practiced with his brother and helped coach out. I assume he probably will continue to be present in that dugout for years to come. Our coach, Coach Mark, has taught these boys that yeah winning is fun and all, but it isn't what matters. Playing your hardest, persevering, and playing with integrity are what matters to him and what he has taught these kids. My son was called safe at second a few weeks ago, and literally walked off the base to the dugout. While we were all confused, and I thought Coach was going to explode, Karson simply shrugged and said, "He tagged me". Our coach has taught these kids to play an honest game, with superior sportsmanship and grace. I cannot emphasize enough the regard that I have for this man. And we are lucky enough that he is moving a division up and pulling double duty so he can stay with these boys next year and continue their development.

But that is not what this post is about. This is about the fact that three years ago I thought I knew what baseball family felt like. I love those boys, I watched them grow and develop. I was, and am, so proud of all of them. Last year, our core team that had been together for as many as 6 years, exploded apart. We had some kids leave the state, age up, go to different clubs. We lost some kids to travel ball, and to other teams at our complex. We lost three of our Lombardi kids who were supposed to move up onto my oldest sons' team. When it was all said and done, most of my baseball babies were gone, and my heart was destroyed. Except, they aren't gone. Aiden came to visit from Texas, Kayden was back for a tournament and came to visit, Isiah is there to watch his brother Zack on Karson's team. The twins are there with their little brother, Mikey is there with his. Ethan comes to watch them play when he's out there for his games. Today, I had five players who used to be part of my family standing along the fence in front of me watching our championship game. So, my family, these boys, are still with us. My heart was so full today. I still see them, I talk to them, they play pick-up games and are still friends with my boys. Younger siblings that were babies are starting to play now, parents of long-ago teammates talk with me about how fast our kids have grown, we go and cheer for past teammates. Sometimes, during our games, I find myself cheering for half the kids on the other team because of their bonds with my kids and how I have watched them grow over the years as players. But, as much as these relationships mean to my boys, they just can't possibly know how beautiful it really truly is. The blessings I feel from being a sports mom are immeasurable.

So, three years ago when I talked about being that mom, I had no idea of what was coming. I still cheer, I can still get loud, I am still that mom. But I am also a trusted friend before the games and source of comfort after a bad play. I know these boys, strengths and weaknesses. They trust me, we are bonded, and they make me laugh just as much as I make them laugh. Which of course, I do, because kids think parents are ridiculous. My baby man, even though he isn't a baby anymore, knows the teammates and the old friends. He runs around with them, and they love him. He is the dugout "mascot" and occasional bat boy for both of his brothers. So yeah, being that mom has turned out okay. My boys are making great memories, lifetime memories, that I will be a part of from being that mom. One of the highlights of reading my old post was mentioning how horrified my mother is by my behaviors. I am happy to post that in three years, she has grown and become "that grandparent," and does not hesitate at all to get loud and rowdy. She actually said something today, I cannot remember what, that had my eyes go wide and look at her like "OMG."

Nine years I have been a baseball mom, with hopefully many more to come. God willing. I am headed into my second year as a football mom. My little dude is going to start something, at some point. Life is crazy hectic, everywhere all at once, and I am so incredibly lucky to be able to be present for it. Not a day goes by that I don't thank God for giving me the ability to be present for my boys. Filling their memory banks be full of Momma is something I have worked toward their entire lives, and every day that I can add to that is a blessing.

parents

About the Creator

Jenn Pautsch

I am a mom to three wonderful boys who are my world! I enjoy spending time outdoors, watching my boys play baseball, reading, writing, and relaxing. Most recently, I have been not driving across town much during the shelter-in-place order.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jenn PautschWritten by Jenn Pautsch

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.