Families logo

Being Far Away For Christmas

A story of two sisters

By Gabriella KorosiPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
Being Far Away For Christmas
Photo by Christian Bowen on Unsplash

Both sisters were born in Hungary to the same mother. They had different fathers. This story goes back many years. If I recall correctly, it was close to 25 years ago. Give or take a few years. This story covers two continents, two countries that are very far away from each other. The Christmas story also involves two sisters. One of the sisters is me. It was Christmas time. One of the sisters had moved to another country with her husband and young son. She was older by 18 years. I am the older sister. It was time to celebrate Christmas in Hungary. It was time to Celebrate Christmas in the United States as well. Christmas celebrations always included the whole family coming together and visiting each other on Christmas day. The two sisters lived together before the move happened.

My mother always made beautiful Christmas decorations in the condominium we lived in close to Budapest. The Christmas tree was very tall and beautifully decorated for my younger sister to celebrate Christmas. I have seen the pictures. The tree and the gifts were made in secret and my sister did not know about them. The room was absolutely beautiful. We celebrate Christmas on the evening of the 24th. My sister always called me Gabu. It was easier for her than saying my long name Gabriella. She was just a few years old when this story took place.

On the other side of the world, I was preparing a small Christmas celebration for our little family of three. I missed my family, and I was also happy to be where I am starting my new life. We both sent cards and packages to each other for the holidays. Back then phone calls were very expensive between international countries. Every minute was charged. Wi-fi was non-existent. Computers were not used yet by the public. There was no way to see your loved ones.

I am very close to my young sister and since she was born, I spent a lot of time with her. I love her just like she is a part of me. There is something about a sister bond that is so important. I missed my little sister very much. I missed my family as well of course.

It is time to have Christmas dinner and open presents in Hungary. Hungary is 9 hours ahead of the Pacific Northwest. At the time when it was Christmas dinner in Hungary, we were just getting up and getting our day Started in the United States. I was planning to call my mom and wish her and the rest of the family Merry Christmas and check in some time on Christmas eve or the next day. I would not call every single person because it was expensive. Surprisingly, I received a call from my mom earlier than expected that day. She said that I need to talk to my sister because she is crying and asking for me.

I was very surprised. Why on earth my sister would be crying on Christmas Eve? I talked to my sister, and she was upset. She calmed down after a little time and I got to talk to my mom.

My mom was telling me that everything started well with dinner, and she was very excited to show my sister the living room that was all decorated with a beautiful tree and many presents under the tree. My mom told my sister that she has a surprise for her and opened the door to the Living room. At that point, my sister run into the room and started to yell in excitement and started to call out for me Gabu, Gabu. She did not look at any of the decorations. she did not look at any of the presents. She thought that the surprise could only be one thing. Her sister had come home. When she realized that I was not there she was very upset and started crying. It took a long time to calm her down. I felt very bad that she was looking for me and we cried together missing each other.

A Christmas that should have been fun and joyful ended up being in tears on both continents. Thousands of miles by separation my little sister thought I was her present and I was not there. This is a memory that stayed with me very strongly. I am very grateful that now my little sister and I are on the same continent, and we can call and see each other more easily.

Sisterly bonds can go a long way. This Christmas there were a lot of tears both from my sister and me and from my mom hearing and seeing us cry. Even just writing this story now the memory makes my eyes tear up. I could see my little sister going into that room and looking for me. I cannot even imagine her disappointment. I wish I would have been able to be there for her.

Being away from loved ones, especially around the holiday can be a very difficult process even at a young age.

Thank you for reading my holiday story when things did not go the way was planned.

humanityimmediate familychildren
1

About the Creator

Gabriella Korosi

I am a writer, public health professional, a nurse. Creator of connections, spreading positivity. Interests: health/spirituality/positivity/joy/caring/public health/nursing. My goal is to create positive change.https://gabriellakorosi.org

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.