Families logo

Coffee With My Grandmother

A found childhood memory

By Gabriella KorosiPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Coffee With My Grandmother
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

A few days ago, a memory popped into my head of having coffee with my grandmother. It’s a joyful memory from my childhood. I was talking to my mother yesterday, and we discussed this memory. She reminded me of the name of the bistro in Hungary called Orient where I used to go to get coffee with my grandmother. We would go to the bistro a few times a year when I was visiting my grandmother. She used to work there as a waitress when she was younger.

My grandmother. She was a wonderful woman. There are no words that can describe the connection and love I feel toward my grandmother. I loved to spend time with her, and she loved to spend time with me and her other grandchildren. I have many memories of traveling with her to visit family, baking food, and cooking together. She thought me the love of cooking and baking. I loved the times that we spent together making delicious cooked and baked goods.

The last time I saw my grandmother she had made a wonderful meal for all of us. We had chicken soup, a main course I can not recall and dessert. We were all together. All her 4 grandchildren and two children. I did not know at the time that this will be the last time I will every see her. It has been 10 years. She will always be in my heart.

A memory from my childhood. I remember walking to the coffee place with her when I was maybe eight or ten years old. The city where she lived had a Bistro in the corner of Egressi and Nagy Lajos street. This town was a place in Hungary called Zuglo where my grandmother lived. In her later years she moved back down to the country side where she was born.

When I was young, I could not drink coffee yet, but I received a coffee treat each time when my grandmother got coffee.

I remember us sitting by the window grandma was stirring her coffee she put a sugar cube in a small spoon and submerged it into the coffee then give it to me. That was my coffee treat. That tradition continued for a long time every time we went to get coffee together.

I’m not exactly sure why but this is a wonderful memory of her. the simple act of giving me a sugar cube submerged in coffee warms my heart. We usually would sit and have a fun conversation; we would take our time and just enjoy each other’s company.

I remember the smell of the coffee, it was dark, strong coffee. The coffee was served in a glass coffee cup.

We were sitting at a table for two close to a window and close to the entrance. There were only a few other people present. I remember her asking me if I want anything else the Bistro had desserts and ice cream. I recall getting a small desert.

I loved to spend time with my grandma. I miss spending time with her yet she’s always here with me.

I’m not sure why this memory popped into my head a few days ago but I’m really happy it did. Every time I think of it more details pop into my head and make me smile. It is like grandma saying I am still here with you. And she is here, forever in my heart.

I hope you enjoyed reading this article and you will check out some of the other articles I have written,

Take care, and have a wonderful day,

Gabriella

Dancing Elephants Press 2021. All Rights Reserved.

grandparents
Like

About the Creator

Gabriella Korosi

I am a writer, public health professional, a nurse. Creator of connections, spreading positivity. Interests: health/spirituality/positivity/joy/caring/public health/nursing. My goal is to create positive change.https://gabriellakorosi.org

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.