Families logo

Amanirenas:

The Beginning

By Makeba K DatéPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1
Amanirenas:
Photo by Jackson David on Unsplash

‘I don’t want it. It’s blood money’ I said to my mother through the mobile phone. ‘After everything they put us through – what they put you, how can you even contemplate accepting that money?’

‘Crystal, it is $20,000. You know our situation. The money is a life saver for us, baby think about it before refusing’. Plead my mother

I sigh in frustration, I knew that our financial situation was not the best. In fact we were barely getting by. But that did not change the fact that I wanted nothing to do with those people. Once you get involved in their drama, it’s near impossible to get out.

‘Mom I have to go back to work, we will speak about this when I get home’. That said, I finished the phone call with my mother and try to think about what to do about the current situation we were in. To be honest, there were nothing ‘current’ about the situation we were in. It feels that like we have been in this desperate financial situation for years. Although I has a good paying job, the private medical bills from my mother’s illness was always there. By God’s Grace mom has recover but her bills still needs to be paid, not to mention the other bills and mortgage as well.

My mother did not know it, but I knew that the ‘Tribes’ was behind this. The sum of $20,000 was only a few dollars over the current balance of my mother’s medical bills. With the bills cleared we will not have any financial problems because my salary will be sufficient for both of us.

As far back as I could remember it has always been just the two of us – my mother and I. At sixteen years old, my mother told me the story behind my birth, which was right out of a soap opera. After many years of not having children, my mother, and her then husband, decided to go along the route of getting pregnant via a sperm bank.

Ironically, after she become pregnant with me, her husband decided to leave her for his mistress because the mistress got pregnant with his child. He decided he wanted to be father to his own blood rather than ‘some unknown man’s child’, as he put it.

So there was my poor mother, six months pregnant and now single with hardly anything to her name. Her husband was a rich man and she was entitled to half of his fortune, but she always told me that she did not have the will to fight him. She said she got the most important thing from that marriage which was full custody of me. All she ask for was enough money to ensure that we will not have any financial problems whilst I was growing up. My mother left Huston and move back to the small town of Crystal Rivers in Florida where she grew up.

Her family cuss her down and called her all types of fool for not asking for more money from her ex-husband. Years later, she told me that she was the only one, from her family, that got away from that town and usually send money to them. They were angry that their cash cow was no longer available to them. Her family feud was still ongoing so she decided to stay away from them and purchase a tiny two bedroom cottage for both of us.

For my part I ensure I studied hard at school, got a scholarship to Cambridge University where I studied Law. Got a first in my degree and was offered a job at a reputable Law firm in Huston where I have been employed as one of their top lawyers since. By faithfully saving as much of my salary as I could, I was able to purchase a house and move mom down to Huston to live with me.

I drove into the garage of my four bedroom house, entered the house and called out a greeting to my mother who was already walking into the living room from the large kitchen ‘Chris, you are home, have you decided what to do? They dropped the diary, it is on the dining table. I thought it best to leave it for you to read’.

Walking pass my mother into the dining room. I stared at the little black book in the centre of the table. ‘Crystal, I am surprised that Aunt Maggie left this money for you, just read what she wrote to see if you can do it’.

I knew that this was not true. Sometimes I wished that I did not hide the truth from my mother. I wished I had told her that I found out about my father’s family and that I went to visit them. Wished I had told her what happened there and the results.

Even now my mother believes that the money was an inheritance from Great Aunt Maggie with a stipulation to carry out a last wish. She believes that I did not want to accept the money due to the prolonged and bitter feud in her family. But I knew differently, Aunty Maggie do not have a dime to her name and even if she did, there was no way in hell she will leave any money for me. The money was from them - they even got to Aunty Maggie.

I picked up the book and turned back to my mother, ‘I need a few minutes. I will go and read this in my room’. Walking up the stairs to my room, thoughts race through my mind on how to get through this. I knew that they have been building traps for me for a while. I have been able to side step every one of them, but I was unable to foresee my mother’s illness and that it will eat through my healthy saving balance and still ask for more.

I walked into my bedroom, closed the door softly behind me and sat on the bed. Taking a deep breath, I open the book, carefully reading the words written inside;

Amanirenas,

It is time. You cannot run from this any longer. This is your destiny and your inheritance. You were not force into this, this was your choice and you will now have to live with it; you cannot turn back.

You already know the date that you need to be there, but I will remind you again. September 25th you will have to enter again and prove who you are. If not, you will need to write the Letter of Renunciation. But we all know you will not do that, you are part of us. You will never accept defeat until you give it your all. You are my blood, part for the family, whether you accept it or not, you know what needs to be done.

We wait to see you then – to either take part or renounce.

With love your father

In a few days it will be September. Every ten years this happens and they wanted her back to finish what was started ten years ago. The other families were not happy with how it ended the last time. They want rectification, an end to what happened. Accounts were settled, but not to everyone favour. As far as they were concerned what happened was unacceptable.

I got up from the bed and walk to the full length mirror and took assessment of myself. Standing 5 feet 8, I knew I inherited my height from my father’s side of the family.

Suited more for modelling than a lawyer, her Amazonian figure sat well on her curvaceous body. She had a curvilinear shaped waist and her dark chocolate complexion was blemish free and impeccable. Thick eyebrows eased down gently to her intriguing dark brown eyes that were framed by long black lashes black. Her Nubian sculpted ears and nose added character to her face. Her full bow shape lips, hide a set of dazzling white teeth.

All of this was framed by ebony black afro hair which was currently styled in miniature braids that plunged over her shoulders to the middle of her black

She has always maintain herself, and ensure she was always in shape. Part of her wondered if the daily rigorous workout she put herself through was because she knew that this was coming and she could not avoid it.

Amanirenas, the name that was rewarded to me, the last time I met my father’s family. Memories pulled at me and took me back to that day when I found out who my father was. At eighteen, I received a letter from a law firm stating that my father family would like to meet me. Image my surprise when I learnt that I was the daughter of David Abioye. A mix up at a high class sperm bank meant that my father’s sperm was sent to another facility in error. My mother was inseminated with that sperm instead of the one she and her ex-husband chose. She is still unaware of this mix up.

The Abioyes was one of the world’s most wealthy family. They were basically royalty. They were involved in any successful venture out there. The rule the business world. They were high class risk takers at the front of every line. The Abioyes and the other eleven Tribes.

Upon meeting them I learn that they have been keeping an eye on me from afar. I was also introduced to the dangerous rules they follow. They inform me that for centuries the Abioye have been taking part in kukhethiwe –the Chosen. Kukhethiwe was a rite of passage. From the age of eighteen any blood member from the twelve Tribes are invited to take part. As part of the passage you are dropped in the middle of one of the world most dangerous jungle with just the shirt on your back and a list of things that you must collect and deliver back to the Elders of the Tribes within a week.

I did not know what prompt me but I decided that I wanted to take part in the Kukhethiwe. They tried to dissuade me but as per the rules of the Tribes my blood was my ticket in. That year I was dropped in the middle of Panama's Darién Gap. I did not know how I survived. Many times I had to fight drug smugglers, human traffickers, not to mention wild animals and the dangers of the jungle itself, to complete the tasks given. But I did it and was able to find my way out of the jungle and was the first back to the Elders.

Many of them were shock to see me, you can see that they thought I will perish in that jungle, but I prove them wrong. I was rewarded with the title Kandake Amanirenas Qore li Kdwe li – Warrior Queen. After winning I later found out all of the extra rules and regulation that they expected me to follow. I was not happy with them and left. I went back to the life I knew.

I sigh deeply and pulled myself from the memories, picked up my phone and called the number already saved in the mobile phone,

‘Good Evening Amanirenas’ said the modulated voice at the other end.

‘I have not accepted that name as you well know, my name is Crystal’ I replied tensely.

‘Amanirenas is your name for all concerned. The other Tribes have contacted us, they are expecting your attendance on the 25th. Should I take this call as your confirmation?’

‘I have some stipulations’. Crystal said

Amanirenas’ her father replied smoothly, ‘as you well know, if you win, all your wishes are granted’.

‘In that case, yes, I will be there and tell the other Tribes to expect the same result as last time. I will win again - I will be victorious’.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Makeba K Daté

I like to contemplate people, things and situation. I contemplate that I must be a writer so I wrote down my contemplation and share them with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.