Families logo

A small moment in my life that had a significant impact.

Family values that must be learned and preserved.

By Cyprain SUH CHEO Published about a year ago 3 min read
Like
A small moment in my life that had a significant impact.
Photo by Hoi An Photographer on Unsplash

It was a beautiful summer day, and I was just a young boy running around my grandparents' backyard. The grass was bright green, and the trees provided refreshing shade from the hot sun. I remember the sun shining, and the birds singing. I was chasing after my little brother, trying to catch him, when suddenly, I stumbled and fell to the ground.

I scraped my knee badly, and it hurt a lot. I started to cry, and my brother ran over to see if I was okay. But it was my grandmother who saved me. She picked me up and carried me inside the house.

As we walked inside, I couldn't help but notice how picturesque my grandfather's compound was. It was a large property surrounded by lush trees and bushes. The house was a two-story white mansion with a wrap-around porch and big windows. It was like something out of a fairy tale.

My grandparents always took great pride in their home. My grandfather was an avid gardener, and the yard was always perfectly manicured. There were rows of colorful flowers, a vegetable garden, and even a small pond with fish swimming in it.

Inside the house, the decor was just as impressive. The living room had a large fireplace surrounded by comfortable couches and chairs. There were paintings and photographs on the walls, each with a story behind it. The dining room was just as grand, with a large wooden table and matching chairs.

As my grandmother tended to my scraped knee, I couldn't help but feel grateful for the beautiful home my grandparents had created. It was a place of warmth, love, and comfort. A place where memories were made and cherished.

My grandmother cleaned my wound and put a bandage on it. Then, she sat me down at the kitchen table and made me a glass of cold lemonade. As I sat there, sipping my lemonade, and watching my grandmother, I suddenly realized how much she meant to me. She wasn't just my grandmother; she was my best friend. I loved spending time with her, listening to her stories, and learning from her wisdom.

That small moment in my life had a big impact on me. It made me realize how much my family meant to me and how lucky I was to have such wonderful grandparents. From that day forward, I spent more time with my grandparents, listened to their stories, and learned from their wisdom.

As I grew older, my love and admiration for my grandparents strengthened. I learned so much from them, not just about life, but about love, kindness, and compassion. They taught me how to be a better person, and for that, I will always be grateful.

Years passed by, and my grandparents grew old. My grandmother's health declined, and I could see the toll it took on my grandfather. He was always by her side, taking care of her, just as she took care of us when we were young.

One day, my grandfather called me and asked if I could come over to their house. He sounded sad, and I could tell something was wrong. When I arrived, my grandfather took me to the backyard, to the same spot where I had fallen and scraped my knee all those years ago.

He looked at me with tears in his eyes and said, "Your grandmother doesn't have much time left." But before she left, she wanted to say goodbye to you."

I felt my heart sink, knowing my time with my grandmother was ending. But I followed my grandfather inside the house, and there she was, lying in her bed, weak and frail.

She looked up at me and smiled, her eyes filled with love. "I'm so proud of you," she said. "You've grown into such a wonderful person. "Remember to always be kind, and never forget your family's love."

I couldn't hold back my tears as I hugged her, knowing this was the last time I would see her. She passed away a few days later, surrounded by her family and loved ones.

But even though she's no longer with us, my grandmother's words and wisdom live on. I think about her every day, and I try to live my life the way she taught me. I strive to be kind, compassionate, and loving, just as she was.

That small moment in my life, when I scraped my knee and my grandmother took care of me, had an enormous impact on me. It taught me the importance of family, love, and kindness. And for that, I will always be grateful.

parentsimmediate familyhumanitygrandparentschildrenadvice
Like

About the Creator

Cyprain SUH CHEO

I am a prolific writer and storyteller, known for captivating readers with my engaging content on different platforms. With a passion for creative expression and a love for the written word, my writing spans various genres.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.