Families logo

A Slow Sunday

with a blizzard outside...

By The Schizophrenic MomPublished about a month ago 6 min read
Like
A Slow Sunday
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

So last night I had a self-proclaimed "night-howler" up in the middle of the night for a few hours and didn't get my full amount of sleep, but hey... that is normal around here. I was surprised, however, when no one woke me up at the crack of dawn!

8am: I woke up and had a horrible migraine. It took me a while to realize that I forgot my last dose of ibuprofen and it was my throat hurting and radiating upwards into my cranium! So, I dragged myself out of bed to get a couple of ibuprofen before crawling back

For those of you wondering where I have been since early March, I have been recuperating from a minor procedure (that is if you are a minor)... I had to have my tonsils and adenoids removed and it has been almost 3 weeks and it still hurts. I know that usually you get them removed as a child or a teenager, but my

8:30am: My youngest came downstairs and crawled into bed with me. How I enjoy the morning snuggles! I was a little surprised that it took this long for her though as the last few days, she has come downstairs in the middle of the night for snuggles. Life got hectic with schedules going off-track and she needed extra reassurance.

9am: My oldest came downstairs hungry for breakfast. Reluctantly I dragged myself out of bed to adjust the thermometer to a decently warm temperature as the entire house felt chilly (probably from the white winter-land outside).

9:15am: Both kids got to help make the waffle batter for breakfast. We use a blender to blend water, walnuts, and rolled oats together and then I start making one waffle at a time. This process takes about 8 minutes per waffle and so I get the kiddos set up with some snacky foods to help with their patience levels.

10am: Breakfast is over and now it is time for me to start the days chores. I start the laundry and do a load of dishes while the kids play on ABC-Mouse for a bit. They both have a tablet that can play movies (for road trips only!), take pictures, play ABC-Mouse, and go some coloring.

10:30am: Make an attempt at writing before the kids need attention again... get distracted by scrolling as my head still doesn't feel the best.

11:30am: Snack time for the kiddos and trying to come up with something for lunch. Both kids want waffles again, but this time with maple syrup instead of peanut butter and jam. Make some phone calls, check my to-do list, and give the kids their assignment of picking up the toys from last night's "night-howler" time.

12:30pm: Writing didn't get completed because I needed to supervise the time with picking up more than I had planned on. I decided to try again to take some time and let the kids have more electronic time as it became apparent that their scheduled time away from home was simply not happening today.

1pm: Well that lasted a long time... haha Both kids are "bored" and so I got some school work out as we are pretty far behind where the books say that we should be at. Something about February being sick and most of this month spent with me sleeping... yeah... we are a tad behind schedule.

1:30pm: I am so proud of both kids! My oldest did 14 pages of handwriting practice/phonics work - we have 14 more pages to go before we are caught back up. Most of the pages were review work, but there were a few tears in regards to the phonics. I have to admit that I am not the best at sounding words out, but we managed!

2pm: The kids are hungry NOW! I am so thankful that waffles are quick and easier to reheat and that they just want maple syrup with them. *smile*

2:45pm: I'm guessing that the temperature isn't going to get any warmer, so I bundled up to take care of some of the outside chores. Even in blizzard conditions outside chores have to be done.

3:30pm: Outside chores are finished and I got my cardio in by making sure at least one emergency escape was clean in case of emergency. I spent the next half hour catching up on recording my steps in my virtual race since I have forgotten to do that the last 2 months.

4pm: Time to call a friend who's birthday is today. Asked her if she had been outside yet to enjoy Mother Nature's gift to her... she hasn't been out to enjoy it and it didn't sound as though she had plans to! Imagine that! *smile* I am so happy that she had a fantastic birthday and wanted to write about how awesome she is, but I wasn't sure if I was allowed to.

4:30pm: Back to writing as the kids run circles screaming... I wish that it wasn't too cold to throw them outside today, but with the wind

5pm: Give up on writing until bedtime and go cuddle when my youngest fell down and hurt her knee.

5:30pm: Realize that the kids are hungry NOW and that I am late making supper. I gave them each part of a banana and started heating the leftover Chinese from yesterday... then remember that I need to make orange sauce...

6pm: Feed the kids and try to figure out how we are going to clean the house enough that I won't feel the need to clean after they go to bed.

6:30pm: Clean-up time and I need to vacuum.

almost 7pm: Both kids want snuggles before bed and so we watch a Disney movie together. Any guesses which one? I'll give you a hint: Heyhey is spelled wrong here.

8:15pm: Bedtime routine... includes tucking each child in at least 3 times in the span of 10 minutes and giving them vitamins. *smile* And I can't forget the precious "I love yous" either with hugs and kisses!

8:30pm: Put the kids back to bed and pay bills. Growl in frustration that I don't have more money to pay off a couple of debts. Do my second load of dishes while waiting for my water to boil as I want to try True Blueberry tea tonight.

9pm: See that I missed a phone call, so I have to return that! Now to write some more... oh wait, the dryer needs unloaded and the washer needs emptied to the dryer...

9:30pm: We will finish at least this article. Do not move. Enjoy your tea and type... IGNORE THE URGE TO SCROLL!!! lol

9:45pm: This article is done at least, and I have a good start on another article for later in the week. Now to go swap laundry, grab some ice cream, and get ready for bed... and I realize at the end of writing this that this life? It is exactly what I always dreamed of when I was 8 years old and playing dolls. Although, let's be honest... my dolls didn't have such intense feelings as my kids do or snuggled as well as my kiddos do.

Hope you all have a good night and enjoyed reading about our day! I hope that other mothers can relate... as I did a lot today, but still feel like I barely did anything.

listvaluessinglesiblingshumanitychildren
Like

About the Creator

The Schizophrenic Mom

I am a mother of 2 precious angels who drive me slightly more crazy

than I already am with a diagnosis of schizophrenia.

When asked "are you crazy?!" my favorite come back is:

"yes! And I have the papers to prove it! How about you?" LOL

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.