Families logo

A shining star

This is for you Auntie

By Bri LeePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Caring, determined, religious, and a star in my eyes , these are 4 words that describe my aunt Sharon. When the family has disputes and we don’t get along, she’s the one who breaks up the arguments, says a prayer and helps calms down my family members by singing a song or reading a scripture. I like how she brings the family together without complaining no matter what negative comments my family throws at her she doesn’t EVER let that get to her. She is a strong, beautiful and corageous woman that’s for sure. I only say that because it’s true, this woman has been to many trials and tribulations just like all of us. With the little that she had before she got her coporate job, she provided for her son first before herself. Whenever I need help she is always there for me. She inspires me to do better especially in college. Since there is remote learning now, I’m more comfortable in my home, I tend to watch movies more and sleep. Being at home is so relaxing to me that i felt like i wasn’t even enrolled in school. I realized that I am slacking in my classes and my homework for that matter I didn’t like that at all. I ended up calling my aunt because she is definitely my go to person whenever I need some kind of advice to get me back on track cause I know that finishing school can take me places I never been before. So I called her to see what can I do to stay on track and to pass all my classes. She told me to take deep breaths, detox from the electronics and focus on what’s important. I took that to heart because she didn’t have to take the time out her day to do that, she could had just texted it to me, but I’m glad she answered my phone call. I was on the verge of not caring about graduating anymore, and just giving up on school, the workload from each class got me tired, I was mentally drained, but my aunt encouraged me to be the best that I can be and to work as hard as I can. She helped me get back on track and I did. I couldn’t be the scholar student that I am now without her love, her words, her wisdom and her honesty. My aunt is true to herself no matter what, no matter how much she makes in her business, she tends to always give back to her community and her family.Thats what I also love about her she is kind and generous and she doesn’t have to be she chooses to. Born and raised in NYC my aunt loves to try new things like go to the museum or ride a horse carage in central park. Auntie I love you, all the trauma that you’ve endured in your life made you strong as ever. I look up to you and one day I wanna make it in the world and do what love because of you. Nobody in the world has much patience as you. You show me that’s it’s important to help people no matter what’s going on in my life. You auntie show me what it’s like to be a real woman who takes initiative and fights for what she wants. I seen that you have through out the years, volunteering at your church, the homeless shelter and teaching at the local church school. You dedicated your time to your students and your child and I am proud of you. Keep being you, a SHINING STAR☺️

extended family
Like

About the Creator

Bri Lee

I am a college student and a writer. I enjoy writing stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.