Families logo

A Grandmother's love is eternal

My Precious Priceless Princess

By Charisse Norwood Published 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
PPP Vaeh

I wanted to share this photo to show the first time I've seen my granddaughter in almost 2mos. It's a crazy story but I'm going to tell it... I am the paternal grandmother. The mother of the child doesn't care for me very much for her own reasons; nonetheless, my brave granddaughter who is 1yr-old, survived a near death by drowning in her aunt's backyard algae-filled swimming pool. I was in Europe, on a thirty day study-abroad trip when after only 7days, my son called me with the news. His daughter, my sweet little granddaughter who was only a year-old at the time, had been found lying face down in the pool; her diaper had her afloat.

I turned on the news, and sure enough all the way from Prague, I witnessed it with my very own eyes. There she was, being carried off by the medics onto a helicopter. OMG! Getting ready to go with nowhere to go I panicked and ran out of my hotel room into the hallways. My peers ran out to see what had happened and attempted to calm me down.

Feeling helpless, I got into the shower to weep and to drown out my voice; I cried out to God, "Help me, Lord!" "Help me, NOW!" I got the "idea" intuitively to reach out for support and tell my Facebook "friends" what happened.

I had no money to get home but a man who I had never met before, reached out to me on face book and bought me a one-way ticket home to get to my granddaughter. It took several days to get back to the U.S.A. but when I got home, I called my son to tell him I was on my way to see the baby. The mother found out that I was on my way, and she left with the child...

I waited an hour for her to return. My heart was broken in pieces. I was broken. I knew I had a battle to fight. I already see the outcome and I already have the victory. What you want wants you. I want her and I know she wants her "Gahmaw." Thank you for listening. I'm writing my book, my memoir, and can't wait to tell my story so that others can know that they too can make it through the worst of the worst and that "This too shall pass."

There was a video of when it was actually on the news at the time of the event but it is archived now. http://www.azfamily.com/home/One-year-old-recovering-after-near-drowning-162446316.html

grandparents
Like

About the Creator

Charisse Norwood

I am an artist and aspiring musician. I have a unique voice that attracts the attention of others; have acquired a degree in communication/organizational management with an emphasis on servant leadership, and am also a motivational Speaker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.