Families logo

A Fathers legacy footprint 👣

Skills development.

By Dawn EarnshawPublished 11 months ago • 3 min read
Like

When I was a young boy, my father would take me on camping trips every summer. we would spend days hiking, fishing, and exploring the great outdoors. My father was a skilled outdoorsman and taught him everything he knew about survival in the wilderness.

As I grew older, I started to appreciate the lessons his father had taught him even more. i became an avid camper and hiker, and he would often think back to the moments he spent with his father in the woods.

One summer, I had decided to take my own son Edward on a camping trip. I wanted to pass on the knowledge and love of the outdoors that my father had instilled in him.

By Tommy Lisbin on Unsplash

As they hiked through the woods, I found himself repeating the same advice and lessons that my father had given me years before. I showed my son how to start a fire, how to set up a tent, and how to navigate using a map and compass.

But it wasn't just the practical skills that I wanted to make sure my father legacy what had taught me were passed down to the next generation. My father had a profound influence on my child’s development and well-being. Provide emotional support, guidance, and a sense of security, as well as serve as role models for my child to follow. A father's involvement in a child's life can also have positive effects on their academic achievement, social skills, and overall happiness.

My father always played an active role which involved in my child‘s life can help to foster a strong bond and a sense of trust between others . This can lead to better communication, greater empathy, and a deeper understanding of each other's needs and perspectives. My father also helped me to pass on to me to enable my son in developing important life skills, such as problem-solving, decision-making, and critical thinking.

It's important to note that fathers come in all shapes and sizes. While some may be biological fathers, others may be stepfathers, adoptive fathers, or father figures who have played an important role in a child's life. Regardless of their relationship to their child, fathers have the ability to make a positive impact on your life and help shape your confidence and compassion to other individuals.

There are many ways that fathers can provide emotional support to their children. Here are a few examples:

Listen actively: One of the most important things my did father did was to provide emotional support is to listen actively to mE. This meant paying attention to my words, feelings, and concerns, and responding in a way that shows empathy and understanding.

Provide reassurance: my father helped me to pass on to Edward a feeling of security and confidence by providing reassurance when he would feel anxious or uncertain. This involved offering words of encouragement, affirmations of love and support, or simply being physically present and available to give to him. It also allowed me to show guidance: my father also provided emotional support by offering guidance and advice Edward was struggling with a problem or decision. This can involve sharing their own experiences, offering different perspectives, or helping me to allow Edward think through different options.

Showing affection: my father showed and expressed emotional support through physical affection, such as hugs, pats on the back, or holding hands. This can helped Edward to feel loved and cared for, and also strengthen the bond between us.

He Created a safe and supportive environment: creating a safe and supportive environment by establishing boundaries and expectations, and by modelling positive behaviours such as kindness, empathy and respect. This helped me feel valued and secur. It also set the the stage for healthy relationships in the future.

i will always be eternally grateful for everything my father did with me and it enabled Edward and I to have the bond I had always dreamed of. As a father myself, Jacob my Son loves visiting and staying with his Grandparents and gives my wife Celia and I the space and time to keep out 20 years of marriage healthy for the next generation and Edward is growing into a fine young man and a great asset to pass on to his next generation. The love we all share is insurmountable and a magnetic to others around us.

Thank you Father.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Dawn Earnshaw

Loves writing short stories and poems - learning punctuation and Grammar.ADHD

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.