Families logo

Route66

Share’d glass.

By Dawn EarnshawPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
Route66
Photo by Matias Contreras on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that was not my own.

Jenny, Jenny how many times have I told you not to put your lipstick on in the rear view mirror? What if you forget to put it back!

Jimmy stop throwing that baseball over here it hurts, mom tell him it’s heavy and…

O’h shit, o’h no sorry mom really I am I didn’t mean too.

Its ok Jimmy it’s only a crack.

You know that’s seve years bad luck?

O’h shut up Mother leave him alone. Its a slight crack I can still see putting my lipstick on.(eyes rolling back) only joking.

Turn the music up Mother it’s Route 66 the B side …..”everywhere is saying hello again ,why must we say goodbye.?” “Got to live it if you want it mother“

Yes dear.

Jimmy was looking forward to meeting up with the Wharton side of the family, who lived in Pensilvania; he didn’t get to see his cousin Philip very much and they really enjoyed baseball. Jimmy would tell and show Philip the Vancouver Canadian baseball matches as it was his favourite team. They were playing the UBC Thunderbirds on the 5 th of April, as a massive treat Mother and I had saved for him to go as a treat, since his Father Albert had passed away. Things were tough without him but we were getting by.

Emily well Emily was a force of her own, iPad, iPhone, EarPods and that was her. You didn’t know you had her but it was isolatin, it felt lonely when there was just us two and even a house full as she would just isolate herself with her gadget. There was nothing to talk much about them and on them was all your in or you are out. So I know she felt unpopular with the others in school who had their Dads as what people do not realise is how difficult it is for a child to not only loose their parent but not have one at all. Other children could be so cruel in their remarks in clothing and what and how she arrived at school in. I had a clapped out chevvy. You would think all that technology of today would help make life easier but it’s actually excluded and isolating most.

can you believe it now they have invested ChatGTP basically an Android to talk to if you are lonely or get it to do your homework, or get it to teach you your lessons then you wouldn’t have school at all and no human interaction would be needed full stop. Life worries me. It really does and I didn’t have Albert to talk to about anything anymor, P,T,A now there is a thought when I return wouldn’t mind joining them and throwing a few ideas out.

What is that noise? Mom, Mom it’s the Sheriff. I told you breaking that mirror..Mother “Shut up” Quite a large officer and the Sheriff got out of the flashing blue light vehicle up to my crappy Chevvy. ”What’s the matter officer? You have a tail light out.

I knew I hadn’t but something didn’t feel right so I just agreed and apologised. Need to see ID and your ownership. Okay Officer.

You two in the back out and you in the front! Really officer my Mother retorted. Smack straight across her head with the truncheon. My Mother fell to the floor in a pool of blood. He dragged her to the Police car and dumped her at the side. My heart was actually coming out of my chest, I could hardly breathe but I knew I had to just keep still and breathe evenly for some reason. The slim Officer said get in he handcuffed my feet to the pedal and my hand to the door. He grasped Emily and through her onto the back seat. I could see the Large Sheriff taking Jimmy to the police car, I pleaded please not her not my Emily, he began to strip her skirt off. I begged him anything I would do anything but it was no use her screams will haunt me until this day. I was hopeless, useless, I cried kicked screamed but it made no difference. He came round to the passenger side and leaned over and laughed in my face. He said anything whore? you better as your boys next. “Anything “I replied. I looked in the rear view mirror and it showed me a reflection that was not my own. Albert I thought. He leaned over and before you knew it I had taken the gun out of his holster and shot him in the head. The windows were splattered in blood, in actual fact Emily and I were covered in blood. I don’t know how many times Albert shot him as I didn’t even know how to hold a gun.

The fatter sheriff came running to the car and I said he’s shot my daughter, he’s shot my daughter Emily- he began to lean In through the window and bang straight through his brains. My Son eventually came and took the cuffs off my feet, and to the door. I looked in the broken mirror and it was my reflection again. I radio to the station the best way I could turned out they were two bank thieves that had killed the officers and jumped on the route66.

My Mother survived with a brain hemorrhage and suffered a minor stroke but the main thing she was alive. We never talked about Route66 ever again, Emily needed counselling and was a champion leader for rape victims. Her IT was put too good use thank you ChatGPT for all your hours of understanding and listening and then helping Emily achieve her goal. As for Jimmy he was awarded a lifetime’s entrance to all games of Vancouver Canadian baseball games and became a Baseball Coach at University, so not all cracked mirrors bring seven years bad luck. Superstitio’s hey!

children
Like

About the Creator

Dawn Earnshaw

Loves writing short stories and poems - learning punctuation and Grammar.ADHD

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.