Families logo

A Emergency Landing Over The Pacific Ocean

Pap's tells a story about this youth.

By Owen RobertsonPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

"It was the summer of 1970, and I was a young pilot in the US Air Force. I had been selected to transport a U-6A Beaver from Hawaii to the Philippines. It was a routine mission, or so I thought."

"The U-6A Beaver was a small, single-engine plane that could hold only two people. It was not the most comfortable plane to fly, but it was reliable and perfect for short-haul flights. As I prepared for my flight, I checked and double-checked everything, making sure that the plane was in perfect condition for the journey ahead."

"As I took off from Hawaii, I had a sense of excitement mixed with apprehension. I was flying over the vast Pacific Ocean, with nothing but the endless blue stretching out in every direction. The thought of being so alone in the sky was a little unnerving, but I knew I had to stay focused."

"As I flew over the ocean, I couldn't help but feel a sense of awe. The view from above was breathtaking. The deep blue of the ocean contrasted with the white of the waves crashing against the shore. It was a sight I will never forget."

“Things quickly took a turn for the worse. The storm clouds had gathered quickly, and the once peaceful flight had turned into a harrowing experience. The wind was howling, and the rain was coming down in sheets, obscuring my vision.”

“The Beav', that's what we called the U-6A Beaver I was flying, was being tossed around like a leaf in the wind, and I knew I had to act fast. I tried to maintain my composure as I radioed the air traffic control tower, requesting an emergency landing. The tower responded, their voices tense as they warned me of the dangerous conditions.”

“My heart was racing as I tried to keep the plane steady, fighting against the powerful gusts of wind. As I made my approach, I could feel the tension in the air. The wind was howling, and the rain was pounding against the windows. I could see the runway, but it seemed so far away, shrouded in the thick mist of the storm.”

“But I didn't give up. My heart was pounding as I made the final descent, my hands gripping the controls tightly. The wind was fierce, and the plane was shaking violently, but I kept my focus and managed to land the plane safely. I breathed a sigh of relief as I taxied to a stop, the rain still pouring down around me.”

“I spent some time in the Philippines, exploring the country and meeting new people. It was an opportunity to unwind after the challenging flight and to reflect on what I had experienced. I realized that the flight had given me a newfound appreciation for the world around me.”

“As I flew back to Hawaii, I felt a sense of accomplishment. I had successfully completed a difficult mission, and I had learned a lot in the process. I knew that I would never forget the flight over the Pacific Ocean and the lessons that it had taught me.”

“As the years went by, I continued to fly, but I never forgot that flight over the Pacific. It remained a defining moment in my life, a reminder of the challenges and beauty that we can encounter in the world.”

“Looking back on that flight, I realize that it was a defining moment in my life. It taught me to trust my instincts, stay focused in difficult situations, and never give up. These are lessons that I have carried with me throughout my life, and I hope my grandchildren will too.”

“I also remember the moments of sheer beauty that I witnessed during the flight. The sight of the vast Pacific Ocean, the waves crashing against the shore, and the endless blue sky were all breathtaking. They reminded me of the beauty and majesty of the world we live in.”

Earp Robertson, 1942 - 2019

I went home thinking about that story he told me. So brave!

I joined the USAF many years later, and never had a experience like pap's.

grandparents
Like

About the Creator

Owen Robertson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.