Beat logo

Starting Out: Becoming A Music Producer

The feelings of a beginning music producer

By Owen RobertsonPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

Starting out as a music producer can be a real adventure. It's a whole new world full of endless possibilities, where you can create something totally fresh and original. But let me tell you, it can also be super overwhelming at times. There's so much to learn and so many tools and techniques to wrap your head around, it can feel like you're drowning in information.

When I first decided to pursue music production, I didn't really know where to start. I had a basic understanding of music theory and a passion for creating music, but that was about it. So I did what any newbie would do: I hit up YouTube and Google and started devouring as much content as I could.

I spent hours and hours reading tutorials and watching videos, trying to figure out how to make beats that didn't suck. It was tough, man. I wasn't sure if I was cut out for this whole music production thing. I mean, I had all these ideas in my head, but when I tried to put them into practice, it just sounded like noise.

But the thing is, if you keep at it, keep learning, keep experimenting, things start to click. You start to figure out how all the pieces fit together. You start to develop your own workflow and your own style.

Of course, there are gonna be some bumps in the road. I remember spending hours trying to get a snare drum to sound just right, only to realize that it still sounded like garbage. But every time you hit a snag like that, you're learning something new. You're building your skills and your knowledge.

And then there's the creative side of things. It's a trip when you finally start to figure out what kind of music you want to make. For me, it was all about trying to replicate the beats of my favorite producers, but eventually I started to develop my own sound.

And even though I'm always trying to push myself and explore new sounds, I always come back to that core aesthetic. It's what feels the most natural to me, and what feels the most authentic.

It's a wild feeling when you finally hit on something that feels uniquely yours. Maybe it's a bassline or a melody or a certain type of sample. Whatever it is, it's yours, and that's a pretty damn cool feeling.

But, let's be real, it can also be a pretty lonely experience at times. You might spend hours upon hours in your room, tinkering away on your computer, without any real sense of whether what you're making is any good.

That's why it's important to find a community of other producers. It's like having a group of friends who speak the same language. You can bounce ideas off each other, share your work, and get feedback on what you're doing.

And when you finally start to share your music with the world, whether it's online or in person, that's when things really start to get exciting. There's nothing quite like seeing people react to something you created from scratch.

But even when you start to get some recognition, it's important to stay humble and keep learning. There's always something new to discover or a new technique to try out.

So if you're a new music producer, my advice to you is to embrace the journey. It's not always going to be easy, but it's always going to be worth it. Keep learning, keep experimenting, and most importantly, keep having fun.

So yeah, starting out as a music producer is a wild ride. There are gonna be ups and downs, but if you keep at it and keep learning, who knows? Maybe you'll make something truly amazing. Just remember to enjoy the journey and have fun with it.

pop culture
1

About the Creator

Owen Robertson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.