Families logo

66-year-old mother: the late years of children vying for filial respect, but I choose to enter the nursing home, the wisest decision

66-year-old woman chose to enter a nursing home in her old age

By Na MeiPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
66-year-old mother: the late years of children vying for filial respect, but I choose to enter the nursing home, the wisest decision
Photo by OPPO Find X5 Pro on Unsplash

Narrator: Auntie Wang

Narrator's situation: 66 years old, retired, Henan people

My partner is also retired from the unit, he can have a monthly pension of 5,000, we eat and drink together, and go out all day long, others envy us both.

Unfortunately, the sky is unpredictable, my partner died a few years ago because of a sudden heart attack, since the death of my partner, I have been distracted all day, always feeling empty in my heart, my partner's clothes and household goods I also confiscated, always feel that he will return one day my partner's things should be organized, but I do not have this mood.

The children are very filial and want to help me clean up a little, but I do not want to, keep these good, at first, I was very sad, but slowly I have adapted to this life, the real hard for me is once I was brushing the phone, suddenly saw a particularly funny thing, subconsciously want to call the old man to see, suddenly found the old man turned out to have died a long time ago, at that time I cried alone for a long time.

Auntie Wang's family

The children are filial, want me to go to them, so I do not have to be so lonely I know, called me to go over is to bring them, children, I choose to go to my son's house, the grandson is very obedient, usually do not make trouble, I am at home to my son and daughter-in-law cooking and eating, usually take the little grandson out to play, the days are also uneventful.

But what I can't stand is that my son and daughter-in-law are very hot-tempered, a word is not the right way to quarrel, and in the end even to quarrel, I am persuaded is, not persuaded is not, many times I can not tell whose fault it is, sometimes the daughter-in-law, sometimes the son, but I persuaded when, always go to admonish the son, and over time I can not stand this mother's heart. I would like to leave, but I am worried that they do not take care of the little grandson.

Then one time, the daughter-in-law quarreled angry, directly to the home smashed again, I directly angry to stand unstable sitting on the ground, see me this way, the son and daughter-in-law also do not quarrel, directly to the hospital, the good thing is that I am all healthy, just blood gas up, since then, I do not want to live in the son's house, always feel uncomfortable.

So I went to my daughter's house, my daughter is also very filial to me, know I went to also do a table of food, daughter, and son-in-law temporarily no children, I was there is nothing, but a little embarrassed is the in-law's mother is also there, although the house is big enough, live certainly no problem, I still feel a little embarrassed.

My in-laws' mother is from the countryside and speaks a dialect that I can't communicate with at all, and she doesn't understand what I usually say, but we can only laugh at each other when we encounter things.

Nursing Home

I didn't want to stay, but where could I go? I didn't dare to go back to the old house, which had too many memories of my partner and me. I didn't dare to go back because I was afraid I wouldn't be able to stop my tears, and I couldn't bear to pack up my partner's things, so I contacted a friend of mine who was now living in a nursing home in the suburbs.

After a 2-hour drive, I finally arrived at the suburban nursing home and met my friend, who was very different from before and had changed too much, her hair was almost completely white, she was wearing a pair of glasses and was sitting at the door waiting for me. She said that life in the nursing home is still good, at least every day the food is complete, and there are a lot of big brothers and sisters around to relieve boredom, if there is work, the staff will go to solve, hear her say so, I was immediately moved if really can enter the nursing home, is indeed a solution to my big problem.

Then I was ready to move into a nursing home and try it out. My children also advised me to take turns living in their home, but I know my children are filial, I still want to go to a nursing home by myself, I don't want to disturb their lives, I have enough pension to spend, so I can't aggravate myself by going to a nursing home.

Most of the people in this nursing home are 70 and 80 years old, and many of them are semi-self-care or completely unable to take care of themselves, compared to me, I can walk, jump, talk, and chatter, so I am an anomaly.

If you stay in a nursing home, you need to pay 3,000 yuan per month, although my children are fighting to pay me, I think my pension is completely fine, and the old house I also entrusted to my children's public management, the monthly rent they also gave me, I also have no place to spend or save up.

Life in the nursing home is wonderful, the most profound thing for me is not lonely at all, there are many older brothers and sisters around about the same age, usually, I also like to chat with them, and in the morning may watch TV together, in the afternoon can also play cards or something, the days are full and beautiful.

Every Monday, there will be a resident doctor of the nursing home to take our blood pressure and listen to our health, I explained to the doctor that I have some back pain, but I did not expect the doctor to give me some medicine, after eating it relieved a lot, the nursing home nursing staff is also very attentive, there are a few nursing staff is this management, and occasionally there are a few university interns over, see these young girls, I will even remember my own young time.

The most important thing is that every time there is a festival like Dragon Boat Festival or Chung Yeung Festival, the home always welcomes a large number of guests, including those who organize activities for the elderly in schools and social groups to visit the elderly.

Nursing Home

That's why, although my children are very filial to me, I still want to go to the nursing home. Since my partner died, I often feel very lonely, and my son and daughter can't relieve me of this feeling, but when I come to the nursing home, I feel that I have found a place for myself.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Na Mei

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.