Families logo

5 Things We Never Thought We'd Do As Parents

Discovering Mommy Me

By Michelle SchultzPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Before I became a mother I never thought I would be a mother. Of course, when I got pregnant, I had an idea of how I would parent. I was going to be my little girl's best friend. But there is a giant list of things I would never thought I would do as a mother starting with this

1. I never thought I would lie to my kid.

Let's all laugh for a minute at that. First off, I don't know how I thought I would ever accomplish that with Santa being a thing that I planned on doing. But seriously, if you're a parent and you have never lied to your kid.... nope just kidding that doesn't exist.

2. I never thought I would be the mom telling my kid to take a deep breath.

You know those moms you see at the park when the kid is screaming at the top of their lunch and their sitting there in front of them going "breathe in and breathe out." And the kid just keeps screaming their fucking brains out? Yeah, I'm that mom. Usually, it does actually work. With a little persuasion and time, but it does. I always made fun of those women though.

3. I also never thought I would be the mom to let my kid scream.

But it's okay. The mom who's walking around Target as her three year old screams her fucking head off and is trying to hit her mom, the mom doing nothing about it. Straight up ignoring it- I see you. I am you. I let my daughter have a meltdown the other day in the vitamin isle and walked away. For my own mental health - I have to let her scream sometimes.

4. I never thought I would pull rank over my dad.

My dad raised me. On his own. He raised my sister and I. I have valued his opinion on everything in my life. But when he gives my daughter a gift that I specifically asked him not to- I pull rank and I took it away. I received backfire from both sides. It's not the first time I've pulled mommy rank. It never gets any less weird.

5. I never thought I would put my career aside to be a mom.

This was a little more recent. I quit a job that I was offered a promotion at and instead took a job at a coffee shop around the corner from my daughter's daycare. So that I could be closer to her and be home every night for dinner with my family. I have been determined since day one to be a career person. My dad runs two companies and I have always been determined to be like him - independent and goal driven, but here I am. Thinking about how much I love reading my daughter a bedtime story every night and how much I want more kids.

I think the point is that we never know what kind of parent we are until were actually in it. It's kinda crazy. I never thought I would be a mom to begin with but now that I am I don't want to stop. Now it's just a matter of finding a way to pay the daycare bills. Am I right?

parents
1

About the Creator

Michelle Schultz

I'm mostly an editorial writer. I love to share my opinions and experiences. I don't hold back and I swear so if you take offense easily, my articles probably aren't for you. I'm a single mom just trying to stay sane.

@loreleismom

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.