Education logo

Write a Book Without Writing a Book

Use your existing stories

By All About LifePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo by Darius Bashar on Unsplash

Writing a book can be hard work, but what if there was a way to write a book without actually writing one? Well, I am glad to tell you there is.

If you are currently a writer and post your work on blogs or other sites, this will work perfectly for you. If you are just starting out, it may take a little longer before your book is finished.

What you are going to do is turn all your existing writing pieces into a book. Depending on what you write about your book will look and appear differently. It is up to you how you want to create chapters etc. If you are a new writer start writing, and then when you feel you have enough articles/stories, simply turn it into a book.

Obviously, it is a lot harder than it sounds, you will still most likely need to change articles a bit to make them flow better with one another, and you will need to market your book, etc.

But one of the bonuses is since you are turning your existing content into a book, you most likely already have some sort of existing audience.

Tip #1

Since the content is being reused and reformatted, you should add a lot of content in the book so there is a lot of value and ease for the customer. In my opinion, making a book about using your existing articles provides value and gives readers an easy way to go through your writing without trying to have to find it on other sites.

It's like if Tim Denning made a book about how to write better. He probably has a lot of articles on that topic, but no one wants to try and find them all so buying a book is much easier. (he may or may not have done this, I am not sure)

If you only have 10 articles published on Medium or Vocal or any other site and you publish a book with the 10 articles, chances are most people won't buy your book because it will be cheaper to read that same content on your existing sites.

You are essentially turning 10s and 10s and maybe 100s of writing pieces into one book.

Tip #2 Selling

Depending on what type of audience you have, you can go a couple of routes, I would say the bigger and more loyal audience you have, try and sell your book through your own website so there isn't a middleman who eats up your profits. If you are a smaller writer, I would recommend selling your book on a more trusted third-party site so the consumer feels safe buying from you. I would still recommend small writers to sell on their own site because some people might buy it from there.

In terms of marketing, you could run ads, link a link to your book in every post your make, email marketing: if you use Medium, you can export a list of all your email subscribers.

So that is how you can write a book without “technically” writing a book! Thanks for reading this article, I hope you found it helpful, if you did be sure to give the article a like and follow me as doing so helps me grow as a writer and share my work with more people which in return helps them.

Cheers!

BONUS: Helpful questions to ask yourself when planning to/writing a book.

  • What will my book be about
  • Will I create the images needed or will I hire someone or use free images
  • What length do I want my book to be
  • Will I collab with other writers to make my book
  • How much will I sell my book for

how to
1

About the Creator

All About Life

Hi, overhere I will be posting about cryptocurrency, money and life

all posts are reuploads from my Medium account @cryptoverse001

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.