Education logo

Why UCLA Is the Right School for Me

What I Want to Study

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

UCLA is simply the right school for me, and that’s the bottom line as I have done some research. UCLA has many programs available although I’m not sure if I want a joint law/masters. I know I want an MBA. But well, first comes a plain old law degree. What I want to do is help mentally ill people get SSI or a job, since we have it pretty difficult when we look for jobs. I can take paralegal classes at De Anza until I enroll in UCLA.

I’m sure some of these classes transfer well. I also want to take online psychology classes, since my general ed is more or less done but I need to retake some other classes in order to get my grades up from their former C's to A's. I would take introduction to legal research and writing because I want to transfer as many units as possible to UCLA. Here’s the guide to UCLA classes. Now if only somebody can donate $20 to my account here on Vocal.Media, I’d much appreciate it. I would like to study patent law and civil rights law.

As it is, I’m low-income right now, and I am busy trying to make money in every manner I can make money. I’m stuck in a financial rut though. I have to break out of this rut, somehow. Yes, I’m terrified of Los Angeles. Yes, I’m terrified of moving from the Bay Area and living there. I’m terrified of going unstable again, of drinking again, and doing caffeine. I’m scared to make money and get real insurance for myself at all. I’m wondering if I can succeed at doing this stuff much less make myself money from my t-shirt business if that can successfully help me become a billionaire.

Certainly, all the divination I do tells me to stay put on SSI a while longer, at least until I actually sleep through the night. I want this law degree though because I want to help disabled people get jobs, sue when they need to, and help prove they’re worth something to those who would otherwise tell them they are not. If I got lucky and got a full tuition scholarship (if I’m not a billionaire), then great. But seriously, I need to make this happen for myself. Yet, if I have enough money, I can pay for my law degree myself.

This is something that could yet happen. I’m skeptical of me making money but I’m not skeptical about tuition being covered by a scholarship if I can retake all my transfer requirements as well as transferable paralegal classes. Boy, do I need to see a counselor for this stuff. I really need to see somebody about what I’m doing to get from point-A to point-B. I can’t wait to jump ship and move to Los Angeles. I’m looking forward to tackling law school.

Living by myself right now has its advantages. I didn’t know I was schizophrenic until age 30. Now that I know, my life is much easier compared to how I was when I didn’t know. I’m doing my best to stay afloat. I’m grateful I can focus because of my medication. My life is ten times better now than it was while growing up. I have all my major health problems treated properly.

But I’m not ready to move to UCLA because I need to face my fear of crowds. UCLA is one big crowd. There is a reason I stay home a lot in the now and that is my fear of crowds. I don’t go to locations that are too crowded. There is no hurry to get my degree, yet I feel hurried anyway.

student
Like

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.