Education logo

The worst is when you're weakest

The worst is when you're weakest

By Lamonica AguirrePublished 2 years ago 10 min read
Like

A 23-year-old girl who just graduated from college left a message to me, every word can hear the grievances, "Sister, I am a clerk in a company, this is my first job after graduation, do especially hard, especially hard, but still can not be recognized by colleagues and leaders, they always exclude me. When I was in college, I heard people say that there are all kinds of people in society, and there are many bad people. Now I finally see it. Sister, was it like that when you first graduated?"

If I hadn't been warned, I almost didn't realize that it had been so long since I graduated. Time is so tricky in the adult world that the slightest mistake risks wasting one's life. From abroad to today's four years, I have had full of grievances and sad tears the moment, just like the girl who was disappointed in human nature, feel the sun is down, but compare himself with a lot of people before and now realized that each person's life during those four years because of its efforts to change in a more or less, I have also learned the truth that when you are weak, the bad people are the most.

When my friend Gull became a rookie in the office four years ago, she contacted me almost every day on a messaging app. She said the same thing, and it was probably a setback at the beginning of her career.

She said, "Every day I go to the office first, clean the health and water the flowers and wait for my colleagues to come, and sometimes I prepare a cup of hot coffee for my senior colleagues, but when I bring it to them respectfully, they don't even look at me."

Or, "I worked overtime with my manager until 8:30. I was so dizzy with a hunger that my feet felt numb and I had to catch the bus, but the manager didn't even ask if I wanted a ride."

More collapse, she spoke about the only one who doesn't have to get up early to work overtime over the weekend, the office is two years older than her girl command generally notify her to go to the company, wait until she went to the company, that girl put a thick pile of information to her, even omit clean politeness and politeness, "ah, you do this for me, my home occupy, want to catch up on."

Four years later, she was working at the same company, where she was one of the few remaining women who were fired for various reasons. The new person in the office prepares a cup of tea for her every day, all eyes are laughing "elder sister, how do you see this file?" Sometimes stay to work overtime, there are male colleagues gallantly "little Gulls I take you home ah!"

She chuckled. "Oh, no." A twinkling of an eye into the white car, drizzly drive away. On weekends, she still worked overtime occasionally, but only for her team and performance. No one dared to leave a thick pile of documents in her desk corner. Everyone longed to be her.

Similarly, four years ago, my friend Ping Zi decided to go to Beijing to be a north drifter. She had wronged herself when she was poor, and her heart was hanging in the air. Others enthusiastically introduced her to a blind date, the other party just sat down has exposed the thick gold necklace, a mouth is this sentence, "I heard that your home is not this ah, I have two sets of houses, money does not worry, just want to find a girl."

Later experienced several blind dates, worse than that one, the middleman is very sorry to tell her very frankly, "I'm sorry, people say you are a good girl, but is from other places, the job is not stable, every month on 3,000 yuan salary, how to get married? !"

She goes to the mall for the weekend, and she's followed by a shopping guide who's afraid she's gonna steal a $500 dress. "Could you please lower your voice? I have to go to work in the morning," she whispered, after days of being harassed by revelry tenants in her shared apartment two hours' bus ride from her office.

He even told her with a sidelong eye, "Oh, you can't live here if you have money." As the door closed, there was another raspy laugh outside.

Four years later, she bought a house in the same city, although only a down payment, this is also how many people dream of home, others no longer called her a leftover woman, but a "successful female model", because of the work of high-quality men let her no longer blind date time. She went to the shopping mall to buy clothes, also no longer inexplicably feel guilty, those shopping guides saw her clothes on the logo, and smile another layer, Shan Shan followed her, "your temperament is good, wear what all look good." She would no longer have to share a small space with others, take a cozy bath in the bathroom at night, and no one would bother her with their heartbreaking remarks.

An online friend Alan followed her boyfriend to his hometown when she graduated four years ago. She couldn't find a suitable job for herself for half a year. She watched soap operas, ate potato chips, and occasionally sent resumes at home. The comfort made her ignore her boyfriend's disapproving eyes, until one day he confessed to her that he had found another man. The man put on a cold face and gave her a week to move out. All her property but a suitcase, all the rest of the original attachment with her boyfriend, Alan cries to save this affection, several times in this period of a bolt from the blue almost cry to everything in the past, but the boyfriend abandons coldly looking at her, his new girl has big enough came in, the attitude of a hostess "yo, it still depends on? !" Alan stood on a street corner in a strange city. People were coming and going. In such a busy metropolis, there was no warm place to accept her.

Four years later, she has deep roots in this city, after the breakup of all the time in her career, finally found that work is more reliable than love. Instead of watching soap operas, she spends her time at the gym and swimming pool, in shape as good as a yoga instructor and unrecognizable to her friends at the reunion. Her boyfriend also came to her several times, eagerly saying words of redemption. She just told him, "I'm sorry, I'm not the one who can't live without you." She was engaged to her rich and handsome overseas returnee boyfriend and had no time to worry about that malnourished old relationship.

Four years ago, I went through the formalities for going abroad. Looking like a student, I went back and forth from notary office to notary office, humbly begging one another in the crowded crowd. Finally out of the country, life did not let me easy, I was in a typical helpless Chinese landing posture, half-suspended life. I didn't have a green card. I worked in a Chinese restaurant owned by Chinese people to save my tuition. I automatically gave half a discount on my labor costs, and when I looked up, I saw the arrogance and indifference of old immigrants. I have no money, eat instant noodles and live in the cheapest house refused to take a bus a person cruel to walk at night, even cover belt mask also can not cover their poverty, only heard "so hard to return what country ah" shrill voice, but even a charity hug can not be found; I do not have a skill, like duckweed generally did not grasp to rely on, every night worried about tomorrow, this life accident happened in everything like thunder general destruction of my life, those crooked melon crack jujube has a few smelly money men behind me waiting to buy youth.

Four years later, I finally took root in a foreign country and ended the half-suspended drifting life. I went to a strange city to start my own business, shuttling between government departments and searching for new businesses. I became my boss, worker, and accountant, and my mail was filled with greetings and consultations from old immigrants. I lived in an RV, wrote in my spare time, and traveled, enjoying the life the locals didn't dare have until they were 70. Those crooked melon split jujube has a few smelly money men step back, pretending to decorously talk about poetry, I raised my head at that moment, they know that they can't use the money to buy my youth.

I remember discussing with my friend the grievances I had suffered at the beginning of going abroad. My friend said with emotion, "In fact, we should also be content. Fortunately, we were born as human beings. I began to feel that the principle of natural selection and survival of the fittest does not apply everywhere. In our cruel society, a person knows by intuition where the weakest is.

I have questioned the cruelty of human nature, but found that this question is so weak, those years met countless bad people, they gave me how many grievances, how many tears, make me under countless times "must be somebody in the future" determination, but also let me see clearly, the effort is the only way to release. Every new level of life, it's like there are fewer bad people around: people who have found a decent job to stay in a foreign country, people who say, "I can't see why I can't stay, but I'm hanging on." After making money, those who say every day, "Oh, it is not easy to find a boyfriend? !" The man disappeared; Change to a better living environment, those who say "this cheap rent you still need to shower every day?" And the people were gone... Life with the cruelest and the most real way to tell me, a lot of bad people, because they are very weak, they saw through my distress, this distress betrayed my weakness, it was enlarged to be used to be entertainment, cover up all the flash points of human nature. It also let me know that only a strong person has the right to choose, the qualification to be valued, and the most powerful and dignified counterattack. Otherwise, no matter where you flee to the world, you will find there are a lot of bad people.

In this life some so many people look prosperous, we often think it is lucky, but no one knows they used four years or ten years to grind the weak, become now the brilliance of a person, like no one asked little gull four years through many nights to one data, and no one knows how to ping son desperately to make money and save, And when Alan put the time in the gym that other people used to have fun... The only thing we can see is that the people around them seem to be especially kind and peaceful. The world is not difficult for them, only gentle and romantic.

I thought for a long time about how to reply to this 23-year-old girl who was lost, and finally deleted the long speech I had written before, leaving only this sentence: "When you are weak, the bad people are the most."

These words lack warmth and look cold, but it is the greatest truth of survival. There is more cruelty in life, which needs a person to understand in person, and I believe that this twenty-three-year-old girl who just entered society, one day, her unremitting efforts will make those who used to be bad, more and more friendly.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Lamonica Aguirre

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.