Education logo

The Dance That Became Her

The dance of justice

By Lorna EasyPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
The Dance That Became Her
Photo by David Hofmann on Unsplash

I did not want to admit it, but I loved listening to grandma talk about her life, every high and every low point. I knew I had to leave soon but I was a prisoner to her tales and grandma knew it.

“There I stood with my arms spread like an eagle. My head tilted down and angled to the right. A pose that commanded silence from the audience eagerly awaiting the performance of my life. Hair adorned with a laurel leaf crown; each curl and lock knowing when to move in time with the music.

I was described as ‘unconventional and provocative’ as I wore my favorite Greek Goddess dress. A cream V-neck tunic with sea blue border, edges of my sleeveless dress finished in gold rope. I knew my destiny, my reason for being here. I am Callidora ‘Gift of Beauty’.

The familiar sound for the Zorba dance began. I heard the collective sound of fingers clicking. I lifted my head and smiled whilst my heart raced in time with the music. ‘Remain calm’ grandpapa always said, ‘Speak to the butterflies in your stomach Callidora, command them to line up in formation and only take flight when you say so’. This always made me laugh, oh how I miss my pappoús”.

Grandma rose from her seat.

“There he is”, I looked in the same direction as grandma. It was as though we both were transported back in time. “That man, the same man I saw before at previous dance competitions. The unmistakable trilby hat, a white cotton scarf worn stylishly about his neck, and tan suit. He always had a small black book with him. He never stopped writing in that book”. Grandma said questionably under her breath.

“That was my third dance competition that month, it was the same for the previous months, he was always there. What was he writing in that book? My eyes would catch his, He always smiled with his unbelievable green eyes.”

Grandma stared; her smile grew. Gently, she moved her hand closer to her face and wiped away a tear. Taking her seat again she continued without missing a beat.

“The music stopped, brought to my attention this was so, when I saw the audience rise to their feet with rapturous applause that was deafening, and it was for me. The man with the tan suit was on his feet also, he threw a rose at my feet, I quickly picked this up and exited the stage.

I could still hear it, Evi, I can still hear the Judge's announcement.” Grandma said excitedly.

“The runner-up in this year’s Epidaurus Greek Festival is Callidora with The Dance Became Her”.

“Evi my heart sank, I thought to myself wait, I, I didn’t... as I walked back out on stage to both cheers and distinctive hissing sounds of disapproval, my legs were moving as though led by an invisible force. My heart sank, runner up again, try as I may the tears just flowed. “Efharisto”, “Thank You”. I cannot remember how I made it off stage as my vision was blurred from all the tears that welled up in my eyes. Always, runner up or runner up to the runner up, when will it be my…”

“Grandma, Yaya”, Grandma blinked rapidly as she quickly rose out of her chair. “Yaya, I have to run now, I’m running late for my dance class, remember not to keep the water on too long”. We barely had enough money to pay the last water bill. “Yaya, I have to go now, turn off the light and just keep the lamp on, ok”.

I ran like the wind to catch the bus which was moments away. I was encouraged to take up dancing by Grandma who told me countless stories about her love for dancing, her unique and unapologetic style of combining the Zorbo with the African infused dance steps Umushagiriro.

Later, that evening at the celebrated Studio Athens…

“Miss Evimera a word if I may,” said the authoritarian Mr. Thaddeus

“Oh no”, I thought, was it my two left feet, was he going to expel me from the class? My heart began to beat so fast I am sure the whole class could feel the vibration; try as I may to quickly brush aside the inconvenient beads of sweat from my brow and command a posture of quiet repose, I was too late.

“Your dance steps are…”

The pregnant pause lingered in the air for what seemed like an eternity, was this weapon of choice to kill me silently where no one notices that I have died.

“I can do better, I’m sorry, I”,

“No apologies please, your dance steps are unique and strangely exquisite. You know you have both the ability and talent to go far if you so wish. I would like to enter you to the Epidaurus Greek Festival, taking place here in Manhattan in June of this year. Well, what do you say?”.

“I, I, thank you teacher Thaddeus, wow, I can’t believe this.

“Yes, you will do more than believe, you will practice and perfect your steps as though your life depended on it”.

Teacher Thaddeus's chosen personae was that of a ‘no-nonsense take it or leave it’ style and often interpreted as being downright rude but today, it was his words that mattered.

Epidaurus Greek Festival

“You came”, Teacher Thaddeus was beside himself as he greeted the distinguished older gentleman. The embrace from both men was undeniable, there was a special connection between them. Who was this man that put a smile on teacher Thaddeus’s face? I watched carefully from my vantage point how teacher Thaddeus led this man to the middle of the second row close to the stage. Brochure in hand, you could hear the audible sounds of laughter from the two of them.

“Yaya, you’re here, I’m so glad you’re here, come this is your seat. Grandma was overcome with the emboldened reserve sign on her seat. Her fingers ran right to left and back again across the word ‘VIP’. “Of course, I came Evi”. As we broke free from our embrace, Yaya tenderly kissed me on my cheek and spoke …

“You are Evimera, born to thrive, command the stage pay homage to you, you have this, you are Callidora’s granddaughter, when

you dance, God smiles”.

With my back facing the audience, arms and head held high, I began the recital of my life.

The results are in

“Congratulations to all our contestants the standard set this year has been like no other. Without further a due. In third place, huge congrats to the Bougainvillea Quartet – The Christmas Rose. In second place and extinguished runner up to this year’s winner; Evimera Afthonia – The Dance That Is”.

“Runner up, I, my eyes searched for grandma, she was on her feet clapping like there was no tomorrow. The myriad of emotions I felt in that instance held my whole-body hostage. I held high, the prize I received; a gold-plated laurel leaf crown, and shouted…

“This is for you Grandma”.

As I left the stage, the thunderous applause was soon overtaken by the sound of Teacher Thaddeus's familiar voice.

“Come Evimera, I want you to meet someone”.

“Yes of course but my grandma Yaya, I must”.

Teacher Thaddeus held my elbow with an insistent grip and led me to the first-row seats of VIPs.

“Father this is Evimera Afthonia, Evimera this is my father Cornelius the CEO and Founder of Studio Athens. He wants to congratulate you”.

“Evimera, congratulations, my name is Cornelius Aetos, I am so honored to meet you. Your dance style, pace, and rhythm remind me of a dancer way back when; wait, what did you say your surname was”.

Before I or teacher Thaddeus could answer.

“Cornelius”, cried Yaya. “It’s you, I recognize you. There is no mistake, your hat, scarf, and tan suit, it's really you”.

They both stared at each other, that look that long-lost lovers would give.

“Forgive me, Callidora, could this be true, all these years, where did you go?”

“Will someone please explain”, chuckled teacher Thaddeus”.

“Yes, this is my grandma Callidora Afthonia”. I immaturely blurted out.

“I searched for a long time and now, here, in Manhattan, Callidora it's so nice to see you again”. Said Cornelius excitedly.

“And I, you, you look well. What are you doing here?” said Yaya.

“Well, for my sins, I too came to the US and opened a dance school. My son Thaddeus was excited for me to meet one of his up-and-coming students, he said and I quote …

‘This student’s dance steps are unique and strangely exquisite”.

I blushed with excitement as this was me, they were talking about. I looked over to Yaya, smiling to herself in disbelief, she looked directly at Cornelius and said…

“You always appeared whenever I danced.

Always writing something in that little black book”.

“Yes, dear Callidora, now, it’s time I show you all I was writing about during that time”.

Thaddeus motion us all to sit down.

“It was during the second performance you gave when I overheard the organizers of the festival discuss how they felt you should have won the competition but due to your dual heritage, Greek and African descent you would at best, only achieve the runner up position, never to be a winner”.

We all sighed but remained quiet as Cornelius continued.

“My surname is not Aetos for nothing. I made it my mission to live up to my namesake and assume the position of an ‘eagle’. I was a young journalist documenting stories of injustice. I could watch your performance and diplomatically listen in on discussions the judges would have. I wished then I could have done something more. In most cases, I heard first-hand, the judgment of discrimination was further upheld by the dishonesty in the prize money they gave you. I recorded everything in my black book noting all the prize money you should have won.”

Cornelius proceeded to take Grandma’s hand and held it tightly in his.

“Dear Callidora, what is owed to you is beyond mere words and gesture, a great injustice was done to you, rendering you, the object of grave indifference. I am so, so sorry. For years I carried with me the knowledge of what happened to you. I know I cannot erase the past, but I can help with the future.

Grandma and I looked at each other and then at Cornelius. He continued to take out what looked like a checkbox. He began to write…

I glanced over at teacher Thaddeus, he smiled and winked at me and Yaya. The sound of a quick tear interrupting our hushed breath, the swift movement of Cornelius’ hand as placed what looked like a cheque in Yaya’s hand.

Silence. Broken when Yaya showed me the cheque.

Twenty Thousand Dollars.

“But, why?”, Yaya slowly uttered.

“This is justice! Long overdue, you deserve this. I hope it will bring you peace to know, your talent was not in vain” said Cornelius as he took out his handkerchief and dabbed his eyes.

“I don’t know what to say, I, we, thank you, efharisto. No one has ever done something like this for me, how do I thank you”.

“You already have Callidora, believe me.

I see what my son Thaddeus sees in your granddaughter, your legacy. It will be a privilege to see the Zorba and Umushagiriro come alive again.

“I’m still in shock Cornelius and don’t know how to thank you enough, this will go a long way to helping us especially my Evimera with her tuition fees”.

“That’s settled then”, said teacher Thaddeus.

“You are both invited to dinner tonight at our home and we will not take no for an answer. Evimera, please remember to bring your notebook as well; we will discuss aspects of your performance today in preparation for your next competition”.

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.