Education logo

Teaching

The First Year

By Madison McDonaldPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

The first year of teaching is easy!

**SAID NO TEACHER EVER**

I started out as an Early Childhood Education major. After the first year, I had a hard time with some relationships in my personal life. I did some soul searching and like many, questioned my degree choice. After graduating with a B.S. in Human Development and Family Studies, with a minor in Psychology, I thought I'd take to the business world.

I moved to Chicago to obtain an M.A. degree in Industrial Organization Psychology. Which, for reference, is right along the lines of Human Resources. While I did enjoy my courses, I was not content. The job seemed too impersonal. What was the point of giving advice if you did not get to observe the outcome? Needless to say, I moved back home.

I quickly took a job in a local, private preschool. I immediately fell back in love with working with children and putting together little lessons for them. I made plans to save for a new M.A. degree. One that would allow me the license to teach and skills to help me do it! I was back where I belonged.

--

My First Day

Most people want to be prepared for their first day of work. Typically, training and an education would make you feel ready. While I did have over 4 weeks of summative training, I wasn't sure if I was "ready"'.

The night before the first day of school, where I would be teaching the class and not taking it, I could hardly sleep. I was filled with anticipation and excitement. I was up before my 5:45 a.m. alarm and arrived an hour early.

I put my mask on and went out to greet my new, third grade class. I held up my sign, "Ms. McDonald's Class" and welcomed the students, already loving every 1/2 face that I saw. I tried to start memorizing masks with faces, hoping that it would help.

I kept calling myself "Mrs. McDonald," instead of, "Ms. McDonald". I accidentally referred to my students as, "Guys!" I forgot how to put in attendance and submitted it late. The first day was not going as smoothly as I had hoped.

Throughout the first day, I tried to get to know the students, introduce expectations, and get them comfortable in our room. By the end of the day, the students asked, "Do we have homework?" Others insisting, "I love homework!" I had no homework prepared, and tried to brush off their questioning as to what else they would do tomorrow.

I had planned for two and a half days of introduction. These students were ready to get to work! I had to bump up lesson plans and study accordingly. However, I still did not include significant homework the first week.

--

That is generally how the first year has gone thus far. I have a room full of smart, quick students. I love every day and I try to challenge them more than they challenge me. However, that is easier said than done.

I've picked them up late from specials, dropped them off late to specials, forgot to send a weekly parent update, had the principal come get me from my classroom so I didn't miss the first three weeks of meetings...yeah. There is so much going on, I am still trying to get it all sorted out!

I have spent many 12 hour days in my classroom. I typically get to school by 6:30 a.m. and have, several times, not left until 8 p.m. Guess what? I could've camped out all week and there would be more to do.

--

Conclusions of a First Semester, First Year

While I will be new to teaching for YEARS, I have come to two conclusions. The first is that a teacher's job is never done. There is always more. Whether it be creating resources, digging deeper into content, or even differentiation for individual students, more can be done.

Secondly, teaching is the best job in the world. Every single day you are tasked to love children. That comes through patience, kindness, and general interest in who they are and how they learn. So far, everyday I have had the chance to ask questions and (try) to create wonder. It is amazing what these small people know.

I am the luckiest girl alive. Not only do I have the best job and many personal blessings, I am apart of a school community that sticks out for one another. I ask teachers questions all day, everyday. I have never been turned down once! These people are in it for all the right reasons and somehow find time to help the newbies. Plus, I have already claimed to have the best classroom of students. :)

I am hoping to come back in about 20 years with some useful information on classroom practice. But until then, take this. You will not start out perfect. If you're like me, you won't start out halfway there. But, everyday you do make a difference. Everyday you are one step closer to becoming great.

teacher
Like

About the Creator

Madison McDonald

Writing is powerful. I write for therapy. I write to understand myself. I write to create my own story.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.