Education logo

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: Jobs

Learn English the Fun way!

By Kevin L. KingPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: Jobs
Photo by Online Marketing on Unsplash

Learn the words

1. doctor

2. chef

3. nurse

4. police officer

5. taxi driver

6. teacher

7. farmer

8. salesclerk

9. firefighter

10. builder

Learn the phrasal verb : Be good at

Meaning: To be able to do something well.

“I think he’d be good at that job.”

Learn the verb: Think

“Recently, I’ve been thinking about what job I’d like to have in the future.”

think: I think firefighters are heroes.

thought: The police officer thought I was driving too fast.

thinking: I was thinking about changing jobs.

thought: Have you ever thought about becoming a teacher?

Read the conversation

Stan: What kind of job would you like to have in the future?

Brad: I would really like to help people. Maybe I'll be a nurse.

Stan: That sounds good, but I think you’d make an excellent doctor.

Brad: I’ll have to study harder to become a doctor. My grades aren’t great.

Stan: That’s true. My uncle didn’t study hard, and now he’s a taxi driver.

Brad: How about you? What would you like to be?

Stan: I’m not sure yet. The teacher thinks I could be a farmer or a builder.

Brad: You are good at working with your hands.

Stan: I love to cook as well. Maybe I should consider being a chef.

Brad: It sounds like we both have a lot to think about.

Answer the questions

1. Why does Brad want to be a nurse?

2. Is Stan’s uncle a police officer?

3. Which jobs did Stan’s teacher think would be good for him?

4. What does Stan love doing?

Find the grammar mistake

1. I would really like help people.

2. My grades isn’t great.

3. I’ll have to study more hard to become a doctor.

4. You are good at work with your hands.

Read the talk

Choosing the right job

Recently, I’ve been thinking about what job I’d like to have in the future. I’m not sure what job is best for me.

I asked my teacher what he thinks. He said I’m good at working with my hands, and I should consider being a farmer or a builder. I don’t think I’d like to be a builder, but I do like being outside. I might enjoy working on a farm.

My friend, Brad, wants to help people and is thinking about becoming a nurse. I suggested to him to be a doctor. I believe he’d be good at that job.

My mom is a salesclerk at a department store near our home. She likes her job because she likes speaking with other people.

It seems there are many kinds of jobs for different people.

Answer the questions

1. Who did Stan ask about his future job?

2. Does Stan want to be a builder?

3. What did Stan suggest to Brad?

4. Why does Stan’s mother like being a salesclerk?

True, False or Not Given?

1. Brad is thinking about being a chef.

2. Stan’s mother likes his cooking.

3. Stan likes being outside.

Take the test

1. Brad wants a job where he can ___.

a. help people

b. work with his hands

c. cook food

2. Stan thinks Brad would make an excellent ___.

a. firefighter

b. nurse

c. doctor

3. Brad will have to study ___ if he wants to become a doctor.

a. hardly

b. harder

c. more hard

4. Brad is___ about becoming a nurse.

a. think

b. thinks

c. thinking

5. Stan’s uncle ___ study hard.

a. didnt’

b. didn’t

c. did’nt

6. Stan is good ___ using his hands.

a. at

b. for

c. to

7. Stan’s Mom works at the department store ___ their home.

a. next to

b. near

c. behind

8. What job does Stan’s Mom have?

a. She’s a salesclerk.

b. She’s a chef.

c. She’s a nurse.

Begin a new English Lesson:

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: My pencil case

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: Colors

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: In the classroom

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: Shapes

Check out the book:

Teacher King's English Beginner Course

Preston Lee's Conversation English

Answers

1. A 2. C 3. B 4. C 5. B 6. A 7. B 8. A

student
1

About the Creator

Kevin L. King

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.