Education logo

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: Shapes

Learn English the fun way!

By Kevin L. KingPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: Shapes
Photo by Khadeeja Yasser on Unsplash

Learn the words

1. square

2. circle

3. triangle

4. oval

5. diamond

6. star

7. rectangle

8. octagon

9. heart

10. pentagon

Learn the phrasal verb: Look forward to

Meaning: To be excited about something in the future.

“I’m looking forward to eating one.”

Learn the verb: Have/Has

“I thought we had a pentagon stencil as well.”

have/has: My teacher has a big heart, and she always helps her students.

had: We had our first English class at school yesterday.

having: Having a dark sky at night is better for seeing stars.

had: Have you ever had my mother’s chocolate cookies?

Read the conversation

Mom: I’ve decided to bake chocolate cookies for your birthday party.

Jay: I’m looking forward to eating them. Your cookies are delicious!

Mom: Would you like to help me make different shapes?

Jay: Sure. What should I use to make the shapes?

Mom: I don’t have anything in the kitchen, except the star stencil.

Jay: I thought we had a pentagon stencil as well.

Mom: We did have one, but I can’t find it anywhere now.

Jay: That’s okay. I can make squares and triangles by hand.

Mom: Please make oval shapes, too. I want to make little football cookies.

Jay: Sure, I can also make cookies in the shape of a circle for basketballs.

Answer the questions

1. What does Jay’s mother want to do for the birthday party?

2. How did Jay help his mother?

3. Which stencil shape do they have?

4. Why does Jay’s mother want oval-shaped cookies?

Which two sentences are not true?

Jay made cookies in the shape of a football.

They only have one cookie stencil to make a pentagon.

Jay likes to eat his mother’s chocolate cookies.

Jay made chocolate cookies for his sister’s birthday party.

Read the talk

Mom’s chocolate cookies

My mom makes the most delicious chocolate cookies. She knows they are my favorite, so she baked them for my upcoming birthday party.

I helped make different shaped cookies. It was difficult because we only had one cookie stencil, which was in the shape of a star. However, I did my best to make different shapes. The only shape I couldn’t make was an octagon. Making eight sides was impossible because the cookies were too small.

Mom asked me to make oval-shaped cookies for the party because my friends and I really like football. I also made circle shapes to make basketballs because that’s my sister’s favorite sport. I wanted to have them for her.

One thing is for sure, everyone is going to eat well at the party!

Answer the questions

1. Whose birthday party did they make chocolate cookies for?

2. Could Jay make a cookie in the shape of an octagon?

3. Why was it too difficult to make octagon-shaped cookies?

4. What is Jay’s sister’s favorite sport?

Find six adjectives in the talk

1. _________ 3. _________ 5. _________

2. _________ 4. _________ 6. _________

Take the test

1. Jay is looking forward ___ eating his mother’s cookies.

a. for

b. to

c. be

2. They only had a cookie stencil in the shape of a ___.

a. triangle

b. circle

c. star

3. Jay thought they ___ a pentagon cookie stencil.

a. had

b. has

c. have

4. Who did Jay make a cookie in the shape of a basketball for?

a. His friends.

b. His sister.

c. His mother.

5. An octagon ___ eight sides.

a. having

b. have

c. has

6. Jay did his best to make ___ shapes.

a. difficult

b. delicious

c. different

7. Jay and his friends like ___.

a. football

b. basketball

c. baseball

8. Which shape wasn’t mentioned?

a. A triangle.

b. An octagon.

c. A rectangle.

Begin a new English Lesson:

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: My pencil case

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: Colors

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: In the classroom

Check out the book:

Teacher King's English Beginner Course

Preston Lee's Conversation English

Answers

1. B 2. C 3. A 4. B 5. C 6. C 7. A 8. C

student
Like

About the Creator

Kevin L. King

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.