Education logo

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: Colors

Learn English the fun way

By Kevin L. KingPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: Colors
Photo by Paweł Czerwiński on Unsplash

Learn the words

1. red 6. orange

2. yellow 7. brown

3. green 8. pink

4. blue 9. black

5. purple 10. white

Learn the phrasal verb: Decide on

Meaning: To choose something from a number of possibilities.

“If you can’t decide on a color by the weekend, just choose white.”

Learn the verb: Choose

“I thought about choosing green, but purple is my favorite color.”

choose: You can choose whatever color you want.

chose: My mom chose the black car.

choosing: Choosing the right color for your room can be difficult.

chosen: I haven’t chosen which color dress I’m going to wear.

Read the conversation

Jane: My uncle is coming over this weekend to help Dad paint my bedroom.

Ben: Cool. What color are you going to paint it?

Jane: I’m not sure yet. Right now, it’s blue. I want to change the color.

Ben: I want to change the color of my bedroom, too. It’s pink now.

Jane: Really? You chose pink for your bedroom?

Ben: Of course not! It was my baby sister’s bedroom before.

Jane: What color would you prefer it to be?

Ben: I think I would like to have an orange bedroom.

Jane: I thought about choosing green, but purple is my favorite color.

Ben: If you can’t decide on a color by the weekend, just choose white.

Answer the questions

1. Why is Jane’s uncle coming to her house this weekend?

2. Has Jane chosen a color for her bedroom yet?

3. What color is Ben’s bedroom now?

4. Which color is Jane’s favorite?

Put the sentences in order

Jane hasn’t decided on which color to paint her bedroom. ___

Ben suggested to choose white if she can't decide on a color.

Jane’s uncle is coming to help her father paint her bedroom. _1_

Ben’s bedroom is pink now, but he wants to change it to green. ___

Read the talk

Choosing a color

My uncle is coming this weekend to help Dad paint my bedroom, and I’m having a lot of difficulty deciding on which color to choose!

My favorite color is purple, but my room is blue now. I think purple and blue are similar colors and I want to make a change. I was thinking about green, but my sister already has that color in her bedroom. I can’t have the same color as her!

My mom really wants me to choose yellow. She read that the color yellow is good for studying, but I think it is a little boring. My friend, Ben, suggested that if I can’t decide on a color in time, then I should go with white.

I think I might shock everyone and choose black!

Answer the questions

1. When do Jane’s father and uncle plan to paint her bedroom?

2. Why does Jane not want to choose green?

3. Does Jane’s mother like the color yellow for her bedroom?

4. How does Jane feel about the color yellow?

Complete the sentence using two words

1. Jane wants to change the color in _____ _____.

2. Mom read that the color yellow is good _____ _____.

3. Jane might shock everyone and _____ _____.

Take the test

1. Jane still hasn’t ___ a new color for her bedroom.

a. chose b. choosing c. chosen

2. The color in her bedroom ___ now blue.

a. are b. is c. was

3. Jane needs to decide ___ a color before her uncle arrives.

a. of b. to c. on

4. Jane’s favorite color is ___.

a. green b. blue c. purple

5. Was the color brown mentioned?

a. No, it wasn’t. b. No, it weren’t. c. No, it won’t.

6. Jane doesn’t want to choose purple because ___.

a. her sister has that color b. it’s too similar to blue c. it’s boring

7. Did Ben choose the color pink for his bedroom?

a. Yes, he did. b. No, he didn’t. c. No, he wasn’t.

8. Jane might shock everyone and choose the color ___.

a. white b. black c. brown

Begin a new English lesson:

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: My Pencil Case

Checkout the book:

Teacher King’s English Beginner Course

Preston Lee's Conversation English

Answers

1. C 2. B 3. C 4. C 5. A 6. A 7. B 8. B

student travel
Like

About the Creator

Kevin L. King

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.