Education logo

Part I: Mt. Kisco Childcare Kids Doing Their Thing

After School Profiles

By Rich MonettiPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Sienna

The kids at Mt. Kisco Childcare are always up to something, and it's always worth knowing what that is. Here's the first in a series with Sienna and Sienna.

Sienna can mix it up.

Sienna isn’t afraid to mix it up with the boys. For their part, they know talent when they see it, according to the second grader.

“They tell their friends that she’s the only girl on the baseball team, and she’s the best,” Sienna revealed.

Having had numerous line drives launched back at my head in the back yard at Mt. Kisco Childcare, I’m in no position to disagree. But she knows the feeling herself. “My dad hit me in the nose last fall while having a catch,” she said, "and then he laughed.”

Never short on words, Sienna had a comebacker to follow her dad’s. “I told him to stop laughing,” her smile said she wasn't too concerned.

The pain subsiding, the hard feelings were gone just as fast. “I wasn’t mad because he’s my dad, and I love him,” Sienna said with pride.

The peaks and valleys stray outside the lines too and extend to the slopes. “I like to go skiing with my dad,” she said. “The last time I was there I was going faster than a cheetah and fell,” Sienna lamented.

Maybe funny enough in itself, Sienna knows how to roll with it nonetheless. “You keep yourself from going too fast by going pizza,” she said, “and turn the skis toward each other.”

On the other hand, her mom does the turn when Sienna tries a 360 on the gymnastic’s bars – or dreams of doing one. “You have to flip over and land back on the bar, but I’m not strong enough to do that,” Sienna said.

Either way, Mom is in no rush as Sienna sees it. “She tells me she’s proud when I do the balance beam, and is amazed how flexible I am,” says the seven-year-old.

But Sienna doesn't need extra girl time among the sports time she spends with the boys to be a lady. “I’m an awesome girl because I’m cool,” she said.

"So peace out,” Sienna concluded.

Ben the Builder

Bob has nothing on Ben – the Builder that is. But this Mt Kisco Childcare after schooler doesn’t come with a backstory. At the same time, his loss for words on where his inspiration comes from doesn’t make his work suffer so or put aside the way these little projects make him feel.

“I don’t know how I build these things, but I’m always proud of my creations,” Ben said.

It’s not hard to see why. “I call this the college science place where everybody becomes really good at science,” he implored.

In the clouds, the fictional students in question don’t circumvent his brain center, which definitely leaves the learning up in the air. “The elevator takes you up to the ball where the gravity is switched off,” Ben said. “I call this the loose gravity science bubble.”

So it wouldn’t be inaccurate to say he frequently plucks things out of the air, and suddenly the pieces are on the rise. “Something comes to mind, and I just build it,” said the second grader.

As such, Legos are his foundation of choice. “I’m very creative with them,” Ben asserts.

The same goes for his specs. “I call this my super plane. It collects a lot of speed when it turns, because it’s powered by air and lets the wind get inside,” he said.

Pride aside, the rewards are on a whirlwind too. “When I do a good job my mom buys me hot wheels,” he says.

student

About the Creator

Rich Monetti

I am, I write.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rich MonettiWritten by Rich Monetti

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.