Education logo

My Story With Anxiety that changed my life

anxiety

By sara khairyPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
My Story With Anxiety that changed my life
Photo by Joice Kelly on Unsplash

I will tell you the beginning of my story with anxiety till the end.

Iwas born into a family that respects its religion and culture, everything must be in order. everything must be on time. you should study to get the best marks in all subjects. you must learn Quraan. you shouldn’t play so much. your room must be clean at all times. all the houses must be in order. My mom was almost anxious.

she was working so hard outside the house. My father also was an engineer who used to travel a lot, so we should respect him in his absence and study very hard to make him happy. we should wake up every morning very early to help our mom and not get her angry with us, so our life was stiff and made me anxious all the time but I don’t notice that until I went to the faculty of medicine to study medicine.

faculty of medicine was the place where all mental diseases began to affect me in all aspects of my life. the first year, I used to study very hard with a huge amount of medical information. I entered multiple quizzes. in every day, I found it hard for me to remember. I lost my concentration. I felt bad. I told myself I don’t deserve that place. I am not good enough. every day on the road to my faculty. my heart rate began to increase. I felt anxious and fearful of nothing. my hands were sweating. I felt my stomach ache. I forget every word I study. I remain in my study office for hours on one page. my weight began to decrease until I reached 48 kg. I had sleep disturbances. I began to think that I had a serious disease as cancer or something else.

Ibegan to see endocrine doctors to check my thyroid which was normal. I visited also internal medical doctors that diagnosed me with irritable bowel syndrome and GERD (gastroesophageal reflux disease). he described medicine that improved my case for a period. But I still had mental issues that affected a lot my whole life. I also had a very severe headache. I felt that someone was holding my mind. I can’t be creative anymore. I couldn’t get into any student activities. I tried to overcome this condition with everything. I began to go to gym and do a lot of exercise but also with no benefit or help.

Until I searched for a psychiatrist who describe my case as general anxiety disorder, panic attacks, and depression I had talked about it before in another article. he described medication and gave me advice to perform that changed my life and my mind.

here are the pieces of advice:

keep physically active in the gym or at the home.

quit drinking a lot of caffeine.

use relaxation techniques. such as yoga, meditation, and mindfulness.

get enough sleep.

eat healthy food and avoid junk food.

learn more about your disease and how to deal with that.

tell your family and your friends about your disease in order to help and encourage you.

try to be imperfectionist instead of perfectionist.

make a daily routine for yourself.

accept failure as a part of success.

studenthow to
Like

About the Creator

sara khairy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.