Education logo

my IB progress

introduction

By light Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hello, I’m going to start off by introducing myself and talking about why I’m here. I won’t reveal my real name so I’ll just go by light. I’m 15 years old and a junior in highschool. I’m currently taking IB, yeh haha the struggle is real. Anyway, so this is a place for me to vent? I guess lol and just talk about my experience and struggles in general. And possibly give advice to other students? If anyone has any.

The core subjects I’m taking are, Math SL, Biology SL, Film SL, and my HL’s are English, Geography, and Arabic. My school is weird so for some reason they chose our SL’s and HL’s. yeh I had no say in that which is annoying because I don’t want to take Arabic as in HL lmao like it’s hard I don’t know anything lmfaoo but yeh I’m taking my exams in May 2021, so if anyone has any advice for me, then I’ll gladly take it lmao.

A positive thing about my school though lmao is that they do convert our marks to the American program and add 10 points for our averages. So, If I don’t get my IB diploma, I’ll still have an American one and I can use that to apply to colleges. And since they add a plus 10, my average can be in the 90s which is what I would normally get if I just took the American program.

lmao I sometimes wonder why I even chose IB because I still will receive my American diploma, but IB does help with independent and critical thinking. The subjects are advanced and does make you think more about real life situations.

To be honest, I never really understood why we take TOK as a separate subject, I figured it would be better if they just incorporate it into the core subjects. But TOK is starting to get interesting? Like some of the questions we have to think about are fascinating and it’s a great practice to write the essays because a lot of it is critical thinking and applying real life implications to it.

I wanna get most my CAS hours done this year. I think I’m going to get creativity done first because I’m doing a lot of blackout poetry and I want to learn to play an instrument. And prolly will do other things, so I can get those 50 hours out of the way. And for activity/service, I’m volunteering at a pet hotel. Lmao I just started today and I want to do at least 20 hours for that. 10 for activity and 10 for service, or 5 and 15.

Now for my extended essay lmao I feel like I’m going to get such a low mark oof, hopefully I pass at least lol. But mine is related to film. I’m almost done finalising my research question then I’ll get to start writing it. We have to hand in the first draft by mid June, and then during summer I guess we’ll get to edit it and stuff. But I’m going to be attending a summer program so like I prolly won’t have much time for it lmao. Ahhh I’m excited for the program though, I’ll be going to New York!!!!!!

Ok lol anyway my report card should be coming out soon, (they’re gonna give us the converted one, so the american one lol) and yeh hopefully I don’t cry about all my low marks dhdhdh

I just can’t wait till I graduate and at least get 24 points and D’s on TOK and my extended essay (:

high school
Like

About the Creator

light

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.