Education logo

Malicious Madame

ChildHOOD struggles can bring great insight

By Ribb Published 4 years ago 3 min read

When you’re a child, you’re told to respect your elders, but what do you do when your elders don’t respect you? I grew up in one of the rougher Scarborough neighbourhoods where people got robbed, shot, stabbed and beat up regularly. My elementary school was in the heart of this neighbourhood, and the kids were tough so the teachers had to be tougher... or at least they tried.

It was May, 2007, and the school year was finally coming to an end. I was bored in class because it was our math period, and I heard an announcement about a few students I knew being called to the music room. After insisting I needed to use the washroom I casually walked to the music room to investigate, but as I peeked into the room the principals eyes met with mine. I quickly moved from the window, spoke to a friend, and headed back toward my class. As continued down the hall, I heard the bulky door shut and the principal demand to remove my jacket. With the facade of confidence, I respectfully responded with “no, it's cold in here” and proceeded to my classroom.

As soon as I got back to class, I opened my book and started on my work. I could feel my stomach churning as she approached my seat. She was persistent about me removing my jacket, and I continued to say no in response. She eventually put her knee on my seat and began to lean against me. I began to feel dread pour over my body when I realized she would follow me wherever I moved. As I got up I could feel her treading behind me toward my seat, then felt her knee lay flat on my chair. This time I told her to leave me alone. Finally I had, had enough and stood up, closed my book, and stood by the classroom door unsure of what to do. She trailed behind me, then began to lean her weight against me. I fumbled slightly, this is the moment i lost my temper which I had been trying to avoid. I shoved her back and screamed, “STOP TOUCHING ME!!” she grabbed me tightly by the arm and began to pull me out of the classroom.

As she dragged me down the hallway I started to freak out, scream at her to release me, and for help from my sister, but she continued to pull me. I fell to the ground from trying to resist her pull and she literally mopped the floor with my body. I regained my footing to try and resist but fell again. As I slid down the hall I tried to reach for boots someone’s boots on the ground to hit her, and ended up just using my hands to pummel, pinch and punch her. I spat in her face and she still wouldn't let go. Desperately, I clung myself to the threshold between two doors, and she was unable to haul me to her office.

Eventually, while still crying and tightly holding the threshold, she realized she couldnt move me and called upon my sister and her teacher to extract me. They brought me to the staff room where we read a book together and calm me down. After about 10 minutes they left the room, and the school liaison came and handcuffed me! She began to pat me down, check my pockets and make uncomfortable comments about what I was wearing. They called my mom and told her that she could either pick me up or they’d be bringing me into the station. Finally, my sister and aunt came to get me, and brought me home after what had been one of the most traumatic days of my life. I was suspended from school for 3 weeks, the last 3 weeks before summer vacation. Once we were home my mom began looking for every platform she could to get the word out about what had happened to me, and I ended up being interviewed on global news! I felt a sense of calm joy knowing that she would be exposed, and prevented from hurting other students the way she had hurt me.

I found that even though this was a traumatizing experience for me I was able to more easily express myself to people when I disagreed with something. I realized that even when I feel alone I can rely on the people who care about me to stand by my side and show how much they love and support me.

student

About the Creator

Ribb

I’d like to share my stories with you, and create awareness on abuse, trauma, and how it molded me through my childhood to my adulthood. It’s dark and it’s scary, but it’s true. My name is Ribb and thank you for giving me this opportunity.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ribb Written by Ribb

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.