Education logo

Crappy Advice from an American Teen

College (Oh No)

By Taylor RosePublished 6 years ago 3 min read

I guess I should start this by telling a little about myself. I’m pretty much just a messed-up kid from a small town in Georgia. I lived in one county pretty much my entire life, even though I’ve moved around quite a bit. I’ve been through some messed up stuff, but I never really let it hold me back. Many kids in my high school considered me smart, but I don’t know. I feel like I got into college on a fluke, but I plan on working as hard as I can to make sure I don’t screw up this chance I’ve been given.

It’s been all of two weeks since classes have started and three weeks since I’ve moved onto campus, and honestly, it’s been pretty great. I mean, if we’re leaving my personal life out of it. As I’ve stated, I’ve been through some messed up stuff and it didn’t just stop because I moved to Memphis for college. But, I can’t exactly complain about too many things either.

Everyone I know has talked about how hard college has been for them and the classes being super difficult. So, either I lucked out, they over-exaggerated, or, you know, I just haven’t had the chance to experience too much pressure yet. But that’s why I’m writing this really. To prove that if I can do it anyone can. See, I’ve been diagnosed with a boatload of mental health… uh… issues. The most notable (problematic) would probably be my anxiety disorder, my major depression, and my PTSD. It’s been quite an uphill battle, and I know I have quite a way to go, but I’m here to say that if I can make it through three weeks of living on campus relatively unscathed, anyone can.

There’s not a lot I can say about how I did it, but here’s a few things I’ve learned relatively quickly:

  • Number one: Make a friend. I know this is really, really hard for some people. But, every freshman is in a new place. No one’s going to think you’re super weird for trying to talk to them. Well, maybe they will if you make it weird. But, if all else fails, just go to any event and sit and watch. Odds are someone will come up and talk to you because they too want a friend. I’ve met two really great people by doing this, not a lot I know, but one of the people who I’ve met quickly became super close to me. She’s a senior, but, that’s fine. She’s super supportive and has been a shoulder to cry on because she’s been through as much, if not more, mess than I’ve been through.
  • Number two: Go to your classes. Your main goal is to get an education. Don’t skip out because you’re not in the mood, you can’t just screw yourself from the beginning.
  • Number three: DO THE READING. If you don’t do anything else do the reading. It’s only week two of classes and so far, I’ve had to be the main voice in my English class because it seems no one else has done the reading. I rather shake from the fear of public speaking then make the professor think were all dumb.
  • Lastly: Learn to love that syllabus because your instructors expect you to revere it as your holy book. I don’t know why. That’s just what it seems like.

I know these aren’t the greatest tips, but hey, this is only my second week of classes. Maybe this will help someone.

This has been yours truly,

college

About the Creator

Taylor Rose

I'm just a weird kid that grew up in a not so great place that likes to share anything helpful. I'm currently attending college in hopes of one day making something of myself. Maybe you'll get to know me better through the stories I share

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Taylor  RoseWritten by Taylor Rose

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.