Education logo

Bonding with your Tarot

getting the most out of your cards

By auraborrowsPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Tarot Prints from Auraborrows

One of the many questions I get about tarot is "how do you choose your tarot deck?" I always wish my answer wasn't the cliché of "trust your intuition," but it is generally the best place to start.

The point of the cards is to align you and help you to understand your own intuitive power. Part of that first step is trusting yourself to make the right decision when it comes to choosing your deck.

Traditionally, it is said that your first deck should be gifted to you. While I think this is a lovely little tradition, it does have some varied effects in my experience.

Different decks have different communications styles, just like different people. I've found that when someone chooses a deck to give someone else they go with their own intuition when purchasing. This may mean that they are more open to decks that will ultimately share their communication style or one like it. If you've been gifted a deck by someone you know well, someone whose communication style you can understand, then you may find it easy to connect with the tarot, despite your intuition not being involved initially. If your communication style doesn't match, however, you may face more challenges in trying to get messages from the deck.

When I worked in a crystal shop I always encouraged people to spend a moment going over the decks we had available. In the same way you may be drawn to people you meet through their energy or their "je ne sais quoi" you can find this with the cards too. As I said before, it's crucial that you trust yourself with this first step.

Once you've found your deck you may want to set intentions with it. Do you want to use it for clarity, growth, reflection, all of the above and more? You're building a relationship here, so take the time to have the "conversation" surrounding expectations. You're also welcome to cleanse it if that feels right for you (again, listen to that intuition of yours!)

Cleansing may look like a sound bath, incense, setting it out under the moon, or just taking some time to meditate with it and breathe out any of the negative energy it may have collected from people who debated purchasing it before you found it.

After this optional step, you can begin to read. I recommend asking the deck about a situation from the past that has been resolved. As the cards reveal themselves you can see how they apply to the situation in question and this will help you to understand the deck's communication style.

I've said it once and I'll say it again, LISTEN TO YOUR INTUITION. If something in a specific card jumps out at you, whether it is a colour or an aspect of the imagery, consider what it could mean to you. The cards communicate WITH you, not AT you. This is a collaborative effort.

I have a deck that I use frequently when I offer personal tarot readings to clients. This deck is one of the most straightforward communicators I've encountered, and I have a lot of appreciation for it and its ability to get to the point. It helps me to read for someone effectively and get the most out of their appointment. If every I need clarity, I ask directly, and I usually only need to pull one card more to clear things up.

I have another deck that I don't use as much anymore because I end up having to pull many cards to get any kind of image regarding my situation. While it is fun to put things together, it does take a lot of time. Unsurprisingly, this deck was a gift from a friend I had a habit of talking to for hours on end about anything and everything under the sun.

Over time you may find that you and your chosen deck grow together, but it is possible that your communication styles begin to shift apart. This may also be an indication that it is time to let go of the old and embrace the new.

The most important things to note when bonding with your tarot are to trust yourself and your intuition. Listen to even the smallest symbols that call to you in the cards. And know that your bond is a collaborative effort in communication.

Good luck!

how to
Like

About the Creator

auraborrows

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.