Education logo

A Maths Mishap

When Angles become tasty

By KryptaKittyPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
2
When angles and lasagne mix.

One sunny morning, I, Miss Johnson, a high school Maths teacher, woke up late. I quickly threw my clothes on, bundled the day’s required planning sheets , along with my trusty planning book, into my bag and sprinted to my car.

Unbeknownst to me, a cookery book had somehow found its way into my bag, cleverly camouflaging itself among the math materials.the necessary papers and books in my bag.

Feeling frazzled, I arrived at school and headed to my classroom. A short time later, the bell rang, signalling the start of my first class, I greeted my Year 7 students with a smile and began handing out the resources.

Grabbing my planning book - I froze when I realised with horror my book error - clutching the item to my chest I paused, allowing the panic to set in.

Realising that I now had a lesson that would instruct my students the art of making a lasagna rather than teaching them to identify angles, I stood at the front and raised my hand. Little did my students know, they were about to witness a rather unconventional Maths class.

I held up the cookery book, displaying it proudly, and announced that today we would be learning about Ratio rather than angles. The students erupted into roars of laughter, realising that their Maths teacher had accidentally brought a cookery book instead of her lesson plan.

Laughing, but cringing inside, I joined in on the hilarity, acknowledging my funny blunder. "Well," I chuckled, "it seems I've taken our Maths adventures to a whole new level today. We may not be learning about angles today guys, but rather mouth-watering lasagne!”

With everyone's spirits uplifted, we decided to make the most of the situation. The students eagerly selected recipes from the book, ranging from decadent desserts to mouthwatering main courses. We split into groups, each tackling a different dish, and started analysing the ratios, whilst at the same time; reading the cooking instructions aloud to practice our reading comprehension too.

Together, we transformed the classroom into a culinary mathematical wonderland. We converted multiplication tables into recipes, using proportions and ratios. We scanned ingredients, interpreting patterns.

The enthusiasm and cheer in the classroom was infectious, and the next hour flew by in a blur of laughter and learning. The cookery book that had initially caused me distress became a cherished guide, guiding us through a unique mathematical journey.

Looking at their smiling faces, I realised that sometimes, the best lessons are the ones that are unplanned.

And so, as the final hour rang in, I knew in my heart that my students had not only learned about mathematics but also discovered the magic of turning the unexpected into an opportunity for growth and teamwork. It was a lesson we would all remember and carry with us for the rest of our lives, and for that, I couldn't have been prouder.

The cookery book incident became a running joke among students and staff, ensuring that Miss Johnson's Maths class would forever be remembered as the one where everyone unexpectedly became aspiring chefs.

As the school year drew to a close, my students surprised me with a heartfelt gesture. They presented me with a beautifully crafted cookbook full of notes and endearing messages thanking me for my creativity and caring attitude. Each page held beautifully crafted memories of our culinary and Maths adventures that fateful lesson and the bonds we had forged as a unit.

That late August day, I learned two things: the importance of setting two alarm clocks and double-checking my belongings before heading to class. But hey, sometimes, the tastiest lessons are the ones you never planned for!

studentteacherhigh school
2

About the Creator

KryptaKitty

Hi, This is me:

KryptaKitty - Educator /digital mixed media artist | Art Collector | Twitter Space hostess | NFT Collector | IRL Mum of 2 | Mental Health Advocate.

Come and join me on Twitter :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Biniyam11 months ago

    Good story buildup,keep writing.

  • Sandra Tena Cole11 months ago

    This was brilliant! ❣️ What a way to start on your writing on this platform!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.