Earth logo

You Start With The Middle Tray

and a few carrot tops

By D M AlvarezPublished 3 years ago 5 min read

My mother has excellent taste. While I would never admit that to her face, I'm sure there's no harm in confiding this well-kept family secret here on the internet. Ever since I was very small, she has consistently recommended what would become my favorite books, recipes, movies, TV shows, musicals, restaurants, day trips, and random experiences. Being a headstrong child, followed by an impossible teenager, and finally, a cheeky adult, each one of her recommendations has been met with a firm, "No thanks!" That is, until someone else offers their own acclaim.

In 1995, my mother begged me to watch the movie How to Make an American Quilt. I shook my head, “No.” She pleaded and even offered me money, but I stood firm. Nearly a year later on one Friday night, we went to Blockbuster to pick out a movie. I found her in the New Release section after a lap around the store and held up my chosen movie: How to Make an American Quilt. "Jenny at school said it was good," I explained, looking at the pictures on the back. My mom stared at me, incredulous. I blinked back at her. Her eyes narrowed suspiciously and I tried not to let a bashful smile break through. She pointed to herself, her eyebrows raised in an expression that said, "That was my idea."

That was always the way it happened; a casual mention, a disbelieving look, and a sheepish grin.

Before you start to feel too bad for my poor mother, this is a door that swings both ways. My own recommendations have also been met with resistance, despite the fact that my taste has also proven itself to be quite good over the years. We keep a running tab. While she gets to claim bringing wedge salad, Little Women, Lemon Pepper, and (to my everlasting shame), Hamilton into our lives, I get to claim Doctor Who, sweet potato fries, and Wicked. Wicked was a strong one but still, I would have liked to be the first of us to discover Hamilton.

Our list lengthened quite a bit over lockdown. We found ourselves making little bargains here and there. "I'll watch Love with a Proper Stranger with you if you watch Miss Americana with me." We'd trade songs; I'd pick “Betty”, she'd pick “Alfie”, I'd pick” I Wanna Get Better”, and she'd pick “The Look of Love”.

Along with new music and movies also came time. Time to hear the warning the Earth was giving us. Time to see the devastation we were causing to species that depended on us to protect them. Time to reflect on the decisions we were making. If 2020 taught us anything, it was that everything we do is connected. Every choice we make affects someone else. There is an impact to everything.

Like many people in 2020, I found the endless scrolling of TikTok to be a sweet escape from our shocking reality. I spent a large portion of the year scrolling through dance trends, goofy skits, New York apartment tours, drawing lessons, and major songs sung in minor keys. One night, I found myself watching a woman talk about composting. She said, "Do you know that food scraps that go to a landfill don't break down properly?" She had my attention. I always assumed food scraps in a landfill were harmless. Didn't organic matter just turn back into other organic matter? She went on, "When food waste makes its way into landfills, it produces methane, a gas 28 times stronger than carbon dioxide. With 22 percent of our landfills consisting of wasted food, this is creating a huge problem and making climate change worse."

I tapped into her feed and began to scroll through her composting videos. She introduced a small bin with four wooden legs and three trays stacked on top of one another. It was called an "indoor worm composter" and she assured me several times that it did not smell.

You start with the middle tray. You add newspaper to the bottom and fill with moistened coconut coir and shredded newspaper. Then you add red wiggler worms and watch as they migrate down because they don't like light. Finally you cover them with a worm blanket and the top tray and let them settle in. They like laying eggs in the blanket and can double their population every 90 days. Once they sense their population is becoming too dense, they will naturally stop laying eggs.

The bottom tray is there to catch the liquid, or compost tea, that drips down from the middle tray. A few days after they settle in, you can feed them equal parts "brown" and "green" scraps. Greens are kitchen scraps like apple cores, lettuce ends, and banana peels. Browns are things like shredded paper, egg shells, cotton swabs, egg cartons, and even hair.

The worms eat and poop endlessly, and once that middle tray is full, you stop feeding the middle tray and begin to feed the top tray. As the worms realize new food is above them, they will begin to migrate their way up. This process takes several weeks as the remaining eggs still need to hatch in the middle tray and the babies need time to migrate as well. Once this part is complete, you can use the compost in your garden and wash out the tray. What was the top tray now becomes the middle tray and what was the middle tray now becomes the top tray and the rotation begins again.

The next day I told my mom, "I think I want to get an indoor worm composter." As if on cue, her eye brow rose, and her finger pointed to her chest. I laughed, "I know, I know." She has recommended composting to me no less than a dozen times. I even remember as a child being told, "Did you know you could put kitchen scraps in a container and in a few months, you'd have a rich, nutrient dense soil?" She'd smile at me, holding up a handful of carrot tops, "Isn't that amazing?" I'd nod, eyes fixated on my Tamagotchi.

She often told me stories from her younger years. “On the first Earth Day, we protested excessive food packaging. Cathy and I went into the grocery store and after checking out, we unpacked our food and left all the useless bags and boxes there in a big pile and walked out with our food." I loved imagining my mom as an environmental warrior in 1970; barefoot and marching around Los Angeles.

Our indoor worm composter just arrived this week. She watched as I assembled the trays, her eyebrow still half-raised.

While I can claim gelato, Anthroplogie, and avocado toast, she has Anna Karenina, Mexican wedding cookies, and saving the world.

Sustainability

About the Creator

D M Alvarez

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    D M AlvarezWritten by D M Alvarez

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.