Earth logo

No Mow May

Let Your Garden Go Wild And Help The Bees

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
9
My Garden Unmown In May

Introduction

Corporations and the governments in their pockets are doing their damnedest to kill off bees because they see them as pests, seemingly totally ignorant of the fact that without bees, plants would not get pollinated and therefore will not grow.

I love the introductory words to "This Garden" by The Levellers

"The Blood, Sweat, and Tears Really Don't Matter,

Just Things That You Do In This Garden"

So No Mow May

Everyone wants their gardens to be pleasant and even tidy and I first became aware of No Mow May last year. I thought there may be a website for it but I can't find one although the name has apparently been sold so there may be one in preparation.

The main image in this is my lawn and garden which I last mowed in April and will not mow again until June. I am wondering whether this is me genuinely trying to help bees and butterflies, or me just being very lazy.

Although my laziness plays a big part, I am also aware that anything I do that helps the pollinators eventually will benefit me, by providing food for me to eat. Every living thing needs to eat and it always starts with plants.

That may be eaten by livestock that then provides you with meat and dairy produce, but not of this could happen without the pollinators.

This article in The Independent is quite amusing with stances both for and against No Mow May, with this paragraph being particularly pertinent.

Not mowing provides more habitat for bees and butterflies and more cross-pollination. Lawn pests like daisies can achieve full flower. And May is the best time of year to keep bees and butterflies happy because more flowers are in bloom.

Almost 90% of wild plants and 75% of leading global crops depend on animal pollination. One out of every three mouthfuls of our food depends on pollinators such as bees. Crops that depend on pollination are five times more valuable than those that do not.

The above information is taken from the WWF site here

I found this free ebook on the life of a bee which gives some information on how important they are to the continued existence of human life on this planet.

Lots of Dandelions

Being Friends With Bees

I have always tried to make sure that my green areas are supportive of bees and butterflies. I used to religiously pull up dandelions and daisies but now I generally let them be, knowing they are favourites of bees. Since I started doing that I cannot say our gardens and green areas have suffered and I do love to see bees at work.

I also make sure in hot weather that there is water available for bees as well.

I will make sure that all our green areas are bee friendly and that is my main reason for taking part in No Mow May, not the fact that I am extremely lazy.

This is from the Soil Association which gives us mor important information.

We need bees to fertilise many of our crops. Butterflies, moths and other insects pollinate too, but bees are estimated to provide billions of dollars' worth of pollination services to farmers worldwide. Many of the world’s food crops depend on insect and animal pollination to some degree, and pollinators are essential for growing many different fruits, nuts and berries. There are around 70 crops in the UK that depend or benefit from bee pollination.

Pollination by honey bees, wild bees and bumblebees is incredibly valuable for farmers. It is estimated that it would cost UK farmers £1.8 billion a year to pollinate their crops manually if wild bees disappeared. Clearly, it would be an incredibly laborious and enormously expensive task for farmers and growers to manually pollinate their trees and crops, but sadly this is already the case in some parts of China where natural pollinators have disappeared.

Conclusion

I am doing No Mow May, if you have your own green areas it would be gret if you joined too.

HumanitySustainabilityScienceNatureClimate
9

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Lilly Cooper12 months ago

    I don't have daises growing in my lawn :( but it was really interesting to read about how not mowing can help when they do. I might have to plant some daisies in the garden bed come spring (it's June, winter in Australia right now). A good read, thank you for sharing!

  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    I never mow mine. I'm lazy. But also bees! Typo in this line: "I also make sure in hot water that there is water"

  • Great article, nicely informative on a vitally important issue.

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    As a suburban hive owner I applaud and endorse this in every way! A very good article with The Levellers! (NMA fan from way back)

  • Ash Taylorabout a year ago

    Fantastic! World Bee Day is on the 20th of May, and I wholeheartedly support this message. Other things you can do to help pollinators is to create a haven of native plants, rather than just having a lawn of grass.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Planting flowers bees love , great story to write about for the month of May 🥰

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    In the USA website it’s called bee city USA.org

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.