Critique logo

Why Indian men's cricket team not able to win ICC tournaments?

How the trophy has eluded us?

By Vignesh KotaryPublished 2 days ago 3 min read
Why Indian men's cricket team not able to win ICC tournaments?
Photo by Aksh yadav on Unsplash

Since I started watching cricket on channels like Star Sports, NeoCricket, Ten Sports, and ESPN, I must say that I have developed much knowledge about this sport. When I watch the Indian cricket team or any other international cricket team and their legendary players playing, I always get goosebumps and get so hooked up that I spend hours and hours watching them on television and often end up neglecting my studies, thankfully it didn’t affect my grades, but it made my childhood memorable.

Many things have changed since those innocent days the channels that I have mentioned above do not exist anymore and the players who mesmerized and inspired me do not play anymore. I started watching every form of cricket during the year 2008 when my father used to watch after coming back from work. When I watch players performing at peak levels like Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, MS Dhoni, or any other player I get a huge dopamine hit. During those times, I witnessed the Indian cricket team winning a couple of trophies under the great MS Dhoni. Since then, the ICC trophies have eluded us every single time at every format of the game.

The reason the Indian men's cricket team is not able to win any trophies is that they are over-reliant on many senior players. If I speak about the mentality of some players, I would say that they subconsciously play for their reputation and safety in the team which can happen due to being part of a competitive society. In terms of skillsets, there is no doubt about it. But, there is always a mental block that comes their way whenever there is a knockout match or a high-pressure game.

I can recall a lot of times when Indian players were struggling badly in a high-pressure game, and whenever the team managed to win a rare game, it happened due to the sheer brilliance of one or two players who managed to rise to the occasion at that time. But whenever the collective performance of players was needed, the team failed badly. I witnessed some matches when every player failed to perform according to the fan’s expectations.

South Africa is one of those teams which is known for playing poorly during the knockout matches. They play excellent cricket during the bilateral matches and group games of ICC tournaments, but whenever there is a high-pressure game, the team falters in crunch moments. Indian team is also playing a similar brand of cricket at the moment. Dominating every team at bilateral series and falters at ICC events.

Both South Africa and India are the countries who are known for their structured which produces world-class players who are exceptionally talented in terms of skillsets. One of the most common things I noticed about both teams is that there is a lack of luck factor with them. If we notice other teams, especially England and Australia, they were often helped by their luck which was one of the reasons they won trophies and we failed to win test series in their respective home countries.

India is a country where cricket is one of the few sports where we excel. Not winning trophies in that particular surprises the cricketing fraternity and gives a heart attack to Indians who just can’t watch the team losing a single game. Due to having an exceptional talent pool, I can proudly say that the team has the potential to win every major ICC trophy in the future. If the team manages to keep their calm and composure to a normal level, then nobody could stop them from winning the trophies which could act like a drug to the millions of Indians.

ArtStructure

About the Creator

Vignesh Kotary

I am a writer who has a deep passion for expressing my feelings to society.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Vignesh KotaryWritten by Vignesh Kotary

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.