Critique logo

Think (About It)

it still takes two

By Forest GreenPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
3
Think (About It)
Photo by The New York Public Library on Unsplash

Another popular funk song from the early 1970s came in the form of this song, written by the Godfather of Soul, James Brown and performed by Lyn Collins. Released in 1972 and produced with the band, the J.B.s, backing up the instruments, it later became heavy sampled in hip hop over a thousand times. One noticeable section would be "It Takes Two" performed by Rob Base and DJ E-Z Rock. The "Woo Yeah" part or the think break, which was heavily used in many songs is heard throughout the song. While Lyn's lyrics are used as part of the chrous, in which where the "It takes two" part comes from.

MusicEssay
3

About the Creator

Forest Green

Hi. I am a writer with some years of experiences, although I am still working out the progress in my work. I make different types of stories that I hope many will enjoy. I also appreciate tips, and would like my stories should be noticed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachael MacDonald8 months ago

    a fun music history lesson :)

  • Mark Graham8 months ago

    Even though I was only in early elementary school in the early 70's I remember this song. It is a great one

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    <3

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.