Critique logo

Sh*t I Could Watch Over and Over and Do # 6

D.O.A. - "The Prisoner" and "Behind the Smile"

By Tom BakerPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
3
Kicking out the jams since 1977: Canadian punk legends D.O.A.

It's a screaming mess

That television city dream

Your robot's eyes gleam

In my future dream

And I am the prisoner.

I saw D.O.A. live back in 1996, at Fountain Square Theater in Indianapolis, at a punk and indie music festival called "Hodge Podge" that was put on by the local pop-punk kings Sloppy Seconds. It was a great time and D.O.A. killed it, closing the show with a jam session with Zeni Geva, the little Japanese noise dude who climbed a Marshall Stack at the end--I was afraid the dude was going to jump. Anyway...

This clip is from the Flipside home video of D.O.A. with, I think, a show by Dead Kennedys paired with it. I can't remember now. Makes sense.

The clip is D.O.A. from over ten years BEFORE when I saw them. They're still going, although they've had a lot of lineup changes and dead members since 1977. Singer Joe "Joey Sh*thead" Keithley is still with them, although I think he also ran for office up in Canada, at one point. They've been going since 1977.

This song is my personal favorite. But I also embedded another video, the song "Behind the Smile", from the Terminal City Ricochet (1990) soundtrack, which I also love. I first saw that one on MTV's old alternative (then called "postmodern" rock) show, "120 Minutes".

D.O.A. - THE PRISONER

D.O.A. - BEHIND THE SMILE

Music
3

About the Creator

Tom Baker

Author of Haunted Indianapolis, Indiana Ghost Folklore, Midwest Maniacs, Midwest UFOs and Beyond, Scary Urban Legends, 50 Famous Fables and Folk Tales, and Notorious Crimes of the Upper Midwest.: http://tombakerbooks.weebly.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    They formed the year I graduated high school & began college. Still not my thing, but....

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.