Critique logo

Sh*t I Could Watch Over and Over and Do # 5

Toxic Reasons - "Destroyer" (1984)

By Tom BakerPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
3
Toxic Reasons, circa mid-Eighties.

"Bright flash of steel, descending from above, addressed, "From Ronald Reagan to Russia, with love!" - Toxic Reasons

I first saw this video clip on a Black Flag home video called "Live At Target." It was part of a "Coming Attractions" and was one of the best things on the video (which also featured clips from X, Iggy Pop, Bad Brains, and Survival Research Laboratories--Eighties countercultural and punk rock weirdoes, in other words). That was maybe the early 1990s, and this clip was already a decade old then, I think.

It wasn't until the magic of YouTube that I ever got to see the whole thing and finally hear the rest of the song, some other Toxic Reasons songs, etc. I remember I used to have a Dead Kennedys comic book wherein the comic book version of the late D. H. Peligro opined he liked Toxic Reasons. "Not bad," he says in the comic. Not bad, but badass. I've seen this clip a hundred and forty-eight million times now. The song, as dated as the subject material is (at least, in a sense) still just kills it.

Destroyer, indeed.

Music
3

About the Creator

Tom Baker

Author of Haunted Indianapolis, Indiana Ghost Folklore, Midwest Maniacs, Midwest UFOs and Beyond, Scary Urban Legends, 50 Famous Fables and Folk Tales, and Notorious Crimes of the Upper Midwest.: http://tombakerbooks.weebly.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    As you know, not my kind of music. I'd probably enjoy it more with the lyrics where I could read them, but I can understand very little of what's on the video.

  • Tom I love the music . I remember the 1980s and 1990s very well. I remembered my first head banging concert in LA . A group of friends and I went after we got off work at the LA Times . Love it. At the time I was no give me The Doors 😂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.