Critique logo

NO. 6 (Violet,Green and Blue)

A Critique

By Gerald HolmesPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
9
Photo from MutualArt

Created in 1951, Mark Rothko’s painting, “NO. 6 (Violet, Green and Blue),” sold in 2014 for an unbelievable $186 Million, making it the highest price ever paid for a piece of abstract art.

“What the fuck?”

“Are you kidding me?”

My granddaughters’ finger painting, hung on my wall, is better!

My granddaughters' painting

Art
9

About the Creator

Gerald Holmes

Born on the east coast of Canada. Travelled the world for my job and discovered that kindness is the most attractive feature in any human.

R.I.P. Tom Brad. Please click here to be moved by his stories.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer9 months ago

    I agree maybe your granddaughter can get 188 million

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Hehe, she's a natural! nice work.

  • I gotta agree with you. Your granddaughter's painting is wayyyyyy more beautiful!

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    OMG 186 mil. What a total loss for something that appears to be worth maybe, 186.00 dollars. Nice review, Gerald.

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Have to say I agree! Vibrant and interesting - loads better 😁

  • Sometimes I just shake my head. Truth is, I like both. But your granddaughter's finger painting holds a lot more meaning.

  • Lynn Fenske9 months ago

    Damn right! Well written grandpa. Bet your granddaughter is proud of you too.

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Yes, I agree. Well done.

  • Suze Kay9 months ago

    Haha! Like you, I am NOT a Rothko fan. Your granddaughter has promise as a future artist.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.