Critique logo

For Critique: Crossroads

Growing potential

By Alexander McEvoyPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
8
For Critique: Crossroads
Photo by Mike Tinnion on Unsplash

I first started writing Crossroads a month or two ago, and though I love the idea, I haven't been able to find the prose for it yet.

Essentially, this story is about the final destination that all roads lead to. It is told in past tense third person limited and is designed so that the reader shares the confusion and trepidation of Sean, my POV character.

Sean has come to a barren tree at the end of a long and winding road. There he finds a peculiar Inn. Within, there is no sound or colour. Each patron currently there is a whisp of themself, barely visible, and the bartender is murky, indistinct, difficult to look at.

Around the Inn is a vast plain of what looks like grass. Though a gentle wind blows across the place beyond, the thing that is not grass blows in the opposite direction, writhing almost like something alive.

I know exactly where the story is going, but I'm less certain how to get there. If you have any initial comments or bits of advice, please let me know :)

-0-

Story begins:

A gnarled tree stands alone at the end of a long and winding road. It marks the end, and yet not the end. Before its twisted, ancient trunk, the road splits in two, the only place since its beginning when it had done so. To one side or the other, all travellers must go.

Eventually.

-0-

Sean stopped before the tree and looked up into its leafless branches. It was not a kind he could remember ever having seen before, though the thought does not intrigue him as it might once have done. He stood beneath its spreading boughs, aching feet weary from the long, long walk to this place and turned to look behind him.

The road was long, though he can see most of it from where he now stands. Perfectly straight runs the last stretch of it, his own footprints still visible in the brownish dust. Something tugged at his memory, something important though he cannot quite nail it down. With a shrug, he marveled at how far down the road he has come. His knees and back were aching, it must have been a very long walk.

Shading his eyes against light from the overcast sky, he tried to see where he has come from. Up to a point, the road was clear and he could even see a few tiny, almost familiar, figures of other people on their own journeys. Beyond that the world was… not dark, though it could not be seen. The limits of his vision, maybe.

With a shake of his head, he turned back to the tree and listened to the creaking of its branches in a wind so gentle he could barely feel it against his exposed skin. Reaching out to touch the bark, he marveled; the texture of it was familiar to him, as though he had run his fingers down this same spot countless times. Again a memory tugged at him, as gentle as a child’s hand on his sleeve, but evaded his remembering.

Music, soft and gentle caught his attention. Turning around again, looking back down the road, two buildings swam into focus. They stood on opposite sides of the long and winding road, their walls flush on two sides with the main road and its branches. Over the door of each, in plain script, read the words “Inn At The Crossroads.”

Pushing through one of the doors without thought – the buildings were the same what did it matter which one he chose? – he threw a look over his shoulder and saw another figure pushing into the inn opposite. That brought him up short, and the other man too, also looking at him. Again there was the strangest sense of familiarity, but again the thoughts skated across his mind as though there were a skin of ice between them and him.

Clad all in grey, the other man look at him with bewilderment. Then blankness clouded his features, and Sean turned away, entering the building.

It was warm inside. He hadn’t noticed before that he had been cold. Sensation bled into his fingers as he stood, looking into the comforting gloom. His ears burned and aching joints cried out for rest, desperate to ease the burden after so long on the road.

Draft ends.

-0-

I know it's not much. Not even 600 words yet. But I feel it in my left knee, the way I can sometimes predict the weather, that it's something special. I already have a cover image (generated by AI) ready to go. But something is missing, holding me back from finishing this piece.

Already on it's third draft, having been stripped down from nearly 2,000 words, I'm floundering on what to do with it.

Like I said, I already know what is supposed to happen. But I'm more than a little stuck on how to get there.

Lots of love,

Alex

ManuscriptFictionFeedback RequestedDraft
8

About the Creator

Alexander McEvoy

Writing has been a hobby of mine for years, so I'm just thrilled to be here! As for me, I love writing, dogs, and travel (only 1 continent left! Australia-.-)

I hope you enjoy what you read and I can't wait to see your creations :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    Wow Alex!! What you have here is great and I can totally see the conundrum!! I thought I was late to the party and that maybe some people would have some suggestions but their wells also seem to have run dry... (no offence intended). 🤔 Since publishing this piece were you able to find traction yet or are you still looking for suggestions?

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Got no suggestions, but I'll mull on it and come back 😁 It's a good idea, I am solidly intrigued 😁

  • I'm so sorry but I have no idea how to help you out with this. I'm kinda not good at giving feedback 😅 But your beginning reminded me of Robert Frost's poem, The Road Not Taken. I really like Sean and I'm looking forward to reading your completed story!

  • Lana V Lynx10 months ago

    Alex, I loved the setting and vivid description of the place, as if I were there. As for a suggestion how to get where Sean needs to get, perhaps he needs to meet an accidental loyal companion, like a dog who outlived its master or a lost horse? As I don't know where the story goes, I'm not sure if that is a helpful suggestion. But I thought a companion would be good for dialogue-building when you need it.

  • ThatWriterWoman10 months ago

    Hi there Alexander! Firstly, I'd like to say how much I like this concept and I cannot wait to read the full thing! One thing that always gets my creativity going is a bit of 'talk'. I would spring into some of Sean's thoughts written in dialogue-like sentences. Do not be afraid to give him a stand-out personality. He is not only experiencing this Inn for the first time but WE are experiencing him for the first time! That's it from me, best of luck with it, let me know when it's ready!

  • Matthew Fromm10 months ago

    Alright a few comments Alex: "It marks the end, and yet not the end": I would choose a different word for "end". I would rewrite as "It marks the end, yet not the destination." The setting comes through well. I have a sense of the ethereal. permeated by solid details. This came off as wordy: "He stood beneath its spreading boughs, aching feet weary from the long, long walk to this place and turned to look behind him." Otherwise, it is set up well! Go finish it. The setting is there.

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Hey, Alex! I'll jump in with my 2 cents' worth. I like the way you've opened this, especially the sense of familiarity you're teasing us with. I only have one comment, and it's more about semantics than anything else. As written, Sean has technically come to a fork rather than a crossroads. A crossroads should be either a cross or a tee, so that a new road extends in two directions, leaving at least three possible ways to go, back included. A minor thing that no one but a nitpicker like myself would care about.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.