Criminal logo

This was suppose to be fun.

The bridal shower

By Krissy RomeroPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1

"We've been planning this for months; what do you mean she doesn't want to go!?"

"She's saying she doesn't think this is a good idea, something about being seasick and not wanting to get sunburned before the wedding."

"Well, that would've been great if we didn't spend TWELVE THOUSAND DOLLARS A NIGHT FOR THIS YACHT! The bridal shower is only 2 days away! Ashley, I cannot think right now... Please call the rental agency and find out what the refund policy is. If this is the case, we are going to need to make changes fast!"

***

My name is Lori, I am the Maid of Honor for my best Friend Sienna. We have dreamed of this day to come since we were kids, I am in charge of the bridal shower; location, catering, itinerary, you name it! Thankfully, my assistant Ashely has taken the time to help me with these matters.

Six months ago, I gathered all the bridesmaids and the bride to be to discuss the bridal shower, we all agreed to have it on an extravagant Yacht off the coast of the Esterel Mountains, in the French Riviera. The weekend before the wedding. We were all excited, especially my dear friend Sienna, since her wedding is taking place in ST. TROPAZ.

We are only two days away and Sienna pulls this stunt, I know that the rental agency is not going to give us an easy time for a refund, they already provided all the services we need for the weekend. I will be lucky to get my deposit back.

My assistant calls with news about the rental agency. I was right... It is way too late to cancel. This means I must talk to Sienna, let her know.

On my way to my best friend’s suite, my mind is racing per second, trying to figure out how to say..."My sweet friend, we're getting on this damn yacht!" Without her yelling, "OFF WITH HER HEAD!"

I knock on the door. Sienna's mother-in-law opens the door to let me in.

"Good afternoon Mrs. Dorce." She kisses me on both cheeks and replies.

"Bonne Après-midi." And walks out of the room. Oh great, I am left here alone, with Bridezilla!

"So, have you been practicing your French?"

"Oui Oui" Sienna responds. we both laugh. Great! "She's in a good mood, why shouldn't she be, we are days before her wedding." I think to myself.

"SOOO, about this weekend... why didn't you mention much sooner about cancelling the yacht? we're literally 2 days away and we're in an entirely different country. What did you expect for me to do?"

Sienna nods her head in agreement, thank goodness she isn't upset. However, I notice a worried look on her face.

"What is wrong Sienna, I know that look, are you overthinking again, Paul is your dream come true, please don't tell me you're having cold feet!?"

"No, no that's not it, I'm the luckiest woman in the world. I cant wait to devote my life to this man." Sienna sits up and looks at me.

"I've been having some fears about being out on the water, I've been having weird dreams about it."

I reach out to hug my friend.

"oh honey... I am going to be with you... We are all so excited to honor our gorgeous friend/ bride to be, there is nothing to fear, I did tons of research this Yacht Agency provides top of the line service, and Beyoncé has rented from them in the past! All you have to do is relax and allow us to treat you like the Queen that you are as the last weekend of being a single woman."

" You're right, it’s silly of me. Everything is going so perfect; I don't know why I keep feeling like something is going to go wrong."

"Everything is going to be perfect; don't you worry, we are all here for you, we wont let anything go wrong." I reassure my friend.

Now for the entire weekend I can relax and let the staff on the yacht take over.

*****

Its Saturday, morning. I am up before the sun. Ashley is calling all the girls to meet downstairs in the lobby. I gather my weekend bag, extra sunscreen and my 2 lavish evening dresses for dinner attire. I walk over to Sienna’s suite. She is already walking out the door, all smiles.

“Are you ready for the best weekend of your single life?!” I hand a Mimosa I poured in my suite to Sienna.

“If it tops spring break in Cabo, then Hell Yes!” She chuckles.

“Now Cabo is a time to remember, but we are respectable women now, so I can’t promise to top spring break 2017!”

As we walk in towards the lobby, all 9 bridesmaids are talking, sipping mimosas and they all look fabulous and in good spirit! Happy Bride to be…. Check…. Gorgeous happy bridesmaids…Check….

After chatting with all the girls, about 15 minutes later the bus arrives. We are in party mode and its not even 11am! Let us hope we all can survive this trip without blacking out.

We arrive to the docks; the Yacht looks even more spectacular in person. Manuel our lead deckhands, he is our bosun, he’s in charge of making sure everything goes according to plan and he’s gorgeous, Check, check and check! Our Bosun greets us at the entrance alongside him stand his staff holding trays with cold champagne flutes.

I introduce, Manuel to Sienna. “This is the Queen of the ship, make sure she gets whatever she wants Manuel.”

Manuel shakes Sienna’s hand, Sienna smiles and blushes as he takes our bags.

Entering the yacht is magical and I can tell from the look on my best friends face she is in awe.

All the girls gather around on the deck taking selfies, everything is going to plan.

I walk over to Ashley who is typing away on her MacBook, I close the mac book and hand her a champagne flute.

“Ashley, no work this weekend, I want you to enjoy yourself. Thank you for making this happen. I don’t know what I would’ve done without you…Cheers!”

Ashley smiles, places her MacBook down and stands up. “Cheers!"

The evening is going astronomical, we are dancing, singing, laughing and drinking. It cannot get any better than this.

“LADIES!” Manuel shouts from the upper deck…

“Please enter the dining area for dinner”.

The table is set for royalty, the view of the sunset is breathtaking, and my friend is worry free.

We all gather around the table and get seated. Sienna grabs my hand and whispers “Thank you.” I give her a wink and we all enjoy our full course meals. The girls all share their most memorable stories with Sienna, and we laugh until we cry.

What a beautiful first night.

Manuel approaches me, “are you enjoying yourself?”

“Its beautiful I never thought being in the middle of nowhere will be so perfect.”

We laugh, and Manuel responds …. “Oh, Mi Cheri you have no idea.”

THE NEXT MORNING.

We meet at the upper deck to have breakfast together, bottomless mimosas, French croissants, and all the fruit you can ask for.

Suddenly we hear a commotion coming from the lower level.

We all rush down stairs to see what it can be, and that is when our worlds change forever.

Four men in mask, carrying military style guns, our captain shot, bleeding on the floor.

"EVERYONE ON THE GROUND NOW!"

We all fall to the ground, hysterical, praying to God they do not kill us.

the masked gunmen take turns tying our wrist. I look over to Sienna rocking back and forth sobbing, why is this happening to us.

Matters get worst when Manuel, comes walking in, calm, armed and confident.

"Hello ladies.... I know, I know you're confused... listen and you will go unharmed, I promised. My friends upstairs have are destroying your passports and cell phones as we speak. We are not here for your money... We are here for all of you... I think we hit a jackpot, what do you think Fellas?"

Manuel looks over to the gunmen, pointing their guns at us and laughs.

"WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO TO US!? I scream.

Manuel walks towards me, grabs me by my chin...

"Oh you'll see Mi Cheri."

TO BE CONTINUED

fiction
1

About the Creator

Krissy Romero

I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.