Criminal logo

The Memoirs of a Psychopath

Part 2: Introduction Continued

By Matthew EasterPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Chase slowly pulled the key from the ignition with a loud painful grunt. “I don’t want to be here.” He thought to himself. Deep down however, Chase knew that if he wasn’t here, his planning would never be complete. He always took mental notes of what his therapist told him to do, and he did the exact opposite of that. Early on, she had ordered him to count up to ten when he got upset and felt like he was losing control. Deliberately, he counted down from ten and waited to see how long it would take after that for him to snap. Currently, it's been three years since the last time that he counted down from ten.

Dramatically and emphatically, he grabbed the door handle and slowly pushed the door open with his left foot. Then he grabbed his right leg and continued the dramatic pity party and threw his right leg out of the car. Chase rose from the vehicle and slammed the door shut announcing to anyone close by that he was here against his will. Looking down at his watch, panic began to take over as he realized he only had one minute before the session started. Chase was not allowed to be late or else Mrs. Richmond would cancel on him and no longer see him. These were her only conditions.

Without hesitation, he took off in a brief sprint getting inside of the office and checking in with the receptionist at the front desk.

“Wow, barley making it by thirty seconds.” The receptionist said with that stupid grin on her face.

When Chase had first found Mrs. Richmond, he thought that Debra, the petite blonde receptionist, was flirting with him. Chase was however wrong about that. She was just a rude person, and would most likely be a part of Chase’s plan if she kept up her sparkling customer service. That was predictable though, going after a therapist. Such a lack luster victim.

“Chase! You look worried. How close were you today?” Mrs. Richmond said from behind him.

“Thirty seconds according to the desk Nazi here.” He said back without breaking eye contact with Debra. She returned a dirty look to his snide comment.

“Well, you were on time, so let’s begin this session, shall we?” She said while motioning for him to come into her office.

“Fine by me.” Chase replied while letting out a deep dramatic breath.

Chase entered her office and was greeted by the same three things that he hated seeing every week. The statue dedicated to Mrs. Richmond’s dead cat, a picture of her very short boyfriend, and the essential oil diffusor that only knew that horrible scent of lavender. He walked down the three steps of her split-level office and took a seat in the very well used brown leather chair. Still warm from the person that had been sitting in it before him. She followed and sat in the grey cloth chair that looked extremely uncomfortable.

“So, Mr. Richards, what is new with you today?” She asked with a very fake excitement.

“Not a lot. Just the same anger issues. People triggering me even though they know that they are doing it.”

“What do you mean by people triggering you?” Mrs. Richmond asked while pulling out her notepad, anxiously waiting for his very typical response.

“I don’t know. Stupid people that are driving too slow in the fast lane.”

“Chase, those people aren’t doing that to upset you. They are just following the law. Do you have a better example of someone triggering you?”

“Yes.” He replied very quietly.

“Who? What happened?”

“YOU! You happened! I’m so sick of coming here. I hate that thing at the front desk that does things to intentionally annoy me. You always call me Mr. Richards even though you know that I hate it. I’m sick of coming to you.”

“Then why don’t you cancel Chase?”

“Because you’re the only one that hasn’t kicked me out or called the cops on me. You’re the only one that breaks the mandated reporter laws.”

“I see. Do you know why I do that?”

“No.”

“I do see you as a threat to society, and trust me, I have had some severe concerns sometimes. I also understand that sometimes people need to say what they truly feel. If we can’t truly vent our real feelings, how are we supposed to survive?”

“So, what are you saying? That I’m a threat?”

“Yes, that is what I’m saying. But I want you to understand that if you ever feel like you are really about to do one of the things that you have said to me, call me. I will drop whatever I am doing, and I will talk to you.”

“Really?”

“Yes, really.” She said while half laughing.

“I guess I could. Why do you care so much now though?”

“Because recently you have been progressively more violent and I’m beginning to become very concerned.”

“This is just the beginning.” He said with a malicious tone.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.