Criminal logo

The Memoirs of a Psychopath

Part 1: Introduction

By Matthew EasterPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1

Author's Note:

Hello! Before I get into the first part of this fictional endeavor, I'd like to tell you more about the story before you read. This story follows a young man who is dealing with inner demons that push him more towards the brink of insanity before he finally snaps and goes off the deep end. If you like what I write here, please be sure to continue reading as I will be posting a new chapter every other day. I will also be starting another thread in the horror section following the strange encounters of a prison guard. Thanks! I hope you enjoy.

Chapter 1: Introduction

March 3rd, 2017:

Frank Sinatra was always my favorite musician. Not only the pure raw power of his voice, but the lyrics themselves just transcend me to a whole other universe. The melody always seems so happy and carefree, but the lyrics will tell you the truth about life. I have always enjoyed how relatable his music is because he doesn’t sugar coat things. He tells you how it is. And that means that he tells you life sucks. Which it does. Throughout our childhood we are told what a thrill and pleasure that life is as we grow older, but every year as you get older, the only consistent thing is disappointment. You start to see friends and family die. You begin to realize that there really is no purpose to life, as we are just waiting in an eternal line to die. That’s life. We are told to go to school for twenty two to twenty four years of our lives so that we can get a good job and have a happy family and then just live in a limbo until the day that we die. Most of us will leave no legacy or significant contribution behind. And for most people that is fine. Not for me.

Throughout my time in college, I took a lot of psychology classes and learned about a lot of serial killers. And the one thing that I have learned from them...you have to do something truly sinister to leave a lasting legacy behind. I understand that this is not the most conventional approach to leaving a legacy, but it is without a doubt one that will work. The part I always enjoyed the most about my research is seeing what pushed these people, well mostly men, to commit such devious and devilish crimes. Edmund Kemper ( aka the “Coed Killer), was pushed by his abusive mother. One day he snaps and kills his grandparents at the age of fifteen. He shot them both at the age of fifteen. How glorious. What I find most interesting about his first murders is that he killed his Grandfather out of compassion. He didn’t want him to find his life long wife shot dead, so Ed waited in the driveway for his Grandfather to come home and shot him dead in the driveway. I found this fascinating that he was able to kill his Grandmother in cold blood, but killed his Grandfather out of sympathy. I hope I don’t kill like that when I eventually snap.

I know that I’m not supposed to say things like that, but I know what is coming. My court mandated therapy sessions don’t help. She doesn’t care at all, I’m just another way for her to collect a paycheck. That’s all I am to her, a paycheck. I have a meeting with her today, I don’t really want to go, but I am LEGALLY required to go. Maybe she will be my first. I doubt it, but we will see how traffic is. It’s about time that I head out, so I will write more later tonight or early tomorrow. Peace.

Chase Richards set down his notebook and smiled briefly before locating his car keys. Once located, he looked for the cat to say goodbye to, but as usual, she was sleeping. He always felt bad when he woke her from her deep slumber. The poor thing had one of the most miserable lives imaginable, just eating and sleeping. That would be her life for just shy of a decade and then she would die. That would be it. Nothing else to it, no job, no impact on society, nothing but eating and sleeping. Before getting lost on this train of thought like he often did, Chase said goodbye to her and opened the front door of his third story apartment. When he opened the door, he was met by the smell of rain. Always a calming smell to him. Chase took a long deep breath before closing and locking the door behind him. He scurried down the stairs to his 1999 Kelly green Honda Civic that he had been driving for eight years now. Nothing glorious, just enough to get him from A to B and B to C if he needed it. It all had the working amenities that he could want. A great radio, heating, cooling, and most importantly for these cold Seattle winters, heated seats.

Chase entered the car and closed the door gently as he did not want to upset the car. He slowly drew the key from his pocket and carefully put the key in the ignition. Gently, Chase turned the key starting the ignition process. With any luck the engine would fire right up with no issues. And fortunately enough, it did just that.

“That’s my girl.” Chase said to himself as he caressed the dashboard.

Chase put the car in reverse and began his quick drive to his “therapist’s” office. As usual he would blast his metal music and head-bang at traffic lights to freak out all of the white collar workers that he referred to as “co-workers.” He truly enjoyed letting people know that he was not just another mindless drone going through the motions until he died. Chase wanted people to know that he was different, whether they liked it or not. Being different was how people would remember you. If you don’t make yourself stand out, then you might as well be a mindless drone like the rest of them.

When Chase arrived at his therapist’s office, he shut the engine off and took a deep breath. He hated coming here, but he knew that it was the only thing stopping him from going off the deep end. He wanted to wait until he had a legitimate reason to snap and go on a murder spree. Ed Kemper’s mom abused him mentally. Chase’s parents were nothing but supportive of him his whole life. His dad was successful banker who made enough for Chase to have pretty much whatever he wanted. His mother was a school teacher and made sure that Chase was nothing but perfect in school. They truly wanted the best for him. It wasn’t until high school that Chase had his awakening and would be planning for the perfect moment to create his legacy.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.