Criminal logo

The Magazine Murder

You never really know someone

By Melonie S SheltonPublished 4 years ago 9 min read
Like
The Magazine Murder
Photo by Joel Muniz on Unsplash

Claire had to work on a Saturday night. She was the editor of the popular magazine, Vogue. She had a deadline to meet on Sunday. The deadline included tons of pictures to go through plus editing. First she needed a smoke break.

She lit up as she was walking outside. Tilting her head back with her eyes closed, she blew smoke up. As the smoke drifted from her mouth, she felt pressure on her throat. Scared, she opened her eyes. In her face she saw a big man with a shiny knife. She didn’t see his face, just the knife. She figured that was her last cigarette.

Jade had to be at work early Sunday morning. She knew that they could knock this out quick and she would be home by 3. Justin was meeting her at 4 and oh how she needed that visit. All she could think of was how she felt when he licked her. OH MY GOD! She about creamed her panties just thinking about it.

She got to work at 4:00 am with coffee for her and Claire. Claire pulled an all nighter, so she would need it. As she got off the elevator it was nothing like a weekday. You could hear a pin drop. Jade dropped the coffees and screamed!

Molly wasn’t expecting a call so early on a Sunday, but she answered it, not sounding very professional. The voice on the other end was Claire. She was talking so fast that it was hard to understand her. Molly said, “Slow down bitch, what’s wrong”?

Then Jade grabbed the phone from Claire. Molly was so confused. Jade said, “Girl, I stepped off the elevator and there she was”. Very confused, Molly was thinking that it had to be too fucking early for this dama. “Jade please tell me what’s going on. I’m so lost”.

“Well, when I got off the elevator, Claire is on the floor fucking. Like she’s getting it in the ass. I’m all scared because I think she’s being raped”. Molly was Claire’s editorial assistant, so she knew everything about her. This was very out of character for her to do at work. She knows she has to get to the office.

Molly pulls up about 5:30 am. There are police everywhere. Now she’s even more confused. This handsome cop comes up, well actually he was fine as fuck! Anyway, he taps on her window. “Excuse me ma’am, my name is Jamal Wright. I’m a detective working a murder that just occurred and I need to ask you some questions”.

Of course his name is Mr. Right, Molly thought. She tried to look serious and said, “Sure, whatever I can do to help”. She’s secretly thinking of a LOT of ways she could help him. The detective is explaining everything to her, when Jade runs out into the parking deck. Jade had no idea there was anything going on outside.

The detective is now talking to both Molly and Jade. He asked them both why they were here so early and if they knew this lady, and showed them a picture. Molly said, “We are both here to help the editor finish a project”. Then Jade interrupted and said, “Yes I know that lady, she works here”.

The detective asked more questions, including what the lady’s name was. Jade tried to answer, but Molly was determined to talk “Yes that’s Kiara, from accounting “. Detective Wright told them they needed to write a statement down at the station. They went to tell Claire what was going on, and left the building.

Molly drove, and talked a lot on the way. “Jade what the hell? First Claire and now a murder”. They didn’t know Kiara that well, but it still scared them. Jade was at a loss for words. “I’m so in shock about all of it I don’t even know what to say”.

When they arrive at the station, they grabbed hands and walked in. Jade said, “This is all so crazy, I had no idea we would have a day like this”. Molly agreed, but said, “I told Claire not to bring him up there”. Jade just sat there looking even more confused now.

Monday when people arrived at work, they were told about the murder. Detectives were already there sitting at tables. Whenever an employee arrived, they had to speak to a detective. Molly, Jade, and Claire still had to speak to them although they had just two nights before. Molly felt as if they were trying to catch them in a possible lie. Jade kept thinking what Molly said about telling Claire not to bring him, whoever that was, up there. What was she talking about?

One detective, that wasn’t there the other night, seemed to zoom in on Molly and Jade. His name was Detective Williams. He decided to cal those two ladies aside. They know something, he could feel it. As he approached Molly, she became red in the face. “Molly I’m detective Williams. Can we talk please”? Molly nodded yes and followed him.

He started right in. “I’m having a hard time believing that neither of you ladies didn’t know or see something. I read your statements and they don’t add up”. Molly said, “What, you think one of us murdered Kiara”?! He said, “Anything is possible. So tell me about your relationship with Claire “. Molly was pissed at this point, and said, “Like what? I mean I’ve worked for her about 10 years”. He continued.

“So u know her well. You probably even know things about her personal life. So tell me what you know that’s maybe something none of us know about her. Keep in mind, I’ve read Jade’s statement “. Molly had no idea what Jade said. So she must have told them she saw Claire fucking. Damn! She had to tell them the truth. As a cop, he had to already know. Molly said, “Yes I know things about her. When Jade arrived, she walked in on Claire having sex in the office. But that has nothing to do with a mutder”.

“You don’t know that so tell me about Claire”. Molly was so mad that Jade told them so much. Now she had to spill the beans. Molly said, “Ok damn, I’ll tell you about her. When we first met, I thought she was just a high class magazine editor. After about 5 years, she had total trust in me. That’s when I found out who she really was. Lord do I have to keep going”?

Detective Williams just rolled his eyes and nodded yes. So Molly continued. “So she had me doing personal errands for her. Like dropping off money. Not to a bank, but to a guy named Willie. It was weird, but I didn’t ask questions. One day Willie asked me if I wanted to make money like Claire. I was like what do you mean? He assumed I knew, but explained anyway. He told me he was Claire’s pimp. I thought he had to be lying, but it kinda made sense”.

Jade was in the next room talking, but could hear Molly crying next door. She was worried and couldn’t imagine what she was crying about. She was just an innocent white girl. She didn’t know what or who murdered Kiara. Did she?

Molly was in tears as she finished her story. “Willie pretty much ran the show and Claire had a great cover up. No one expected her to be a prostitute. I know I didn’t”. Detective Williams’s stopped her. “So did you work for Willie too? Did you ever know his last name”? Molly was crying even more now. “No I didn’t work for him! And no I didn’t know his last name”. Detective Williams’s figured she didn’t but had to ask. “So do u know who Claire was having sex with the other night in the hall”? Molly really had no clue. She told him, “No I don’t know about that, but I know later she was fucking Willie in her office. I always told her not to bring him up here, but she didn’t listen”.

Detective Williams’s was truly blown away by this outlandish story. He knew there was more, and asked “So do you think Kiara was involved too and it got her murdered”? Molly was looking at the floor and said, “No, she had nothing to do with anything “. He really felt that Molly knew more. He thought he would give her a bathroom break, then continue.

Molly went to the bathroom and was still crying. Claire just happened to be in the next stall. She said, “Did you tell them”? Molly was like, “About you? Yes I had to Claire “. Claire said, “No. I’m talking about you”.

Jade had been in the other stall with her feet up. They had no clue she was there. She kept listening, hoping to find out more. The detective had sent her in there to do exactly what she was doing. She was kind of scared, but kept listening.

Molly said, “No he didn’t ask, so I didn’t tell him. I don’t want to go to prison Claire. I’m in this mess bcause of you. I honestly hate you now”. Claire just laughed and said, “Well at least Willie paid you well to knock her out. And you know he won’t snitch”. Molly said, “Well Claire now my title is murderer”! Jade had her hand over mouth. She couldn’t believe what she just heard!

Detective Williams’s knocked on the door and yelled, “Ladies it’s time to come out”. They both left, and Jade was about to leave to. She didn’t have to, the detective had been in there too and heard it all. He took Jade back to the room, then asked Detective Williams’s to come out into the hall. He told him he heard the confession. They had no choice but to arrest Molly now.

Jade felt sorry for Molly. They handcuffed her at work, and walked her out in front of everyone. No one suspected Molly and no one thought Claire was a prostitute. They took Claire out the same way. No one knew what would happen now.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Melonie S Shelton

My background is in research, writing grants and working with recovering addicts. Helping others is what has always driven me..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.