Criminal logo

The Hidden Past that Never Left

What is Going On?

By Cheryl A Nocera Published 3 years ago 3 min read
The Hidden Past

" Imagine everyday going out in the real world thinking you are the same only to find out you are judged every breath you take. "

Honestly, I cannot imagine what it is like to be a person that is judged everyday, and looked at differently. I really never understood racism, or being bias. Why do people judge others, because of their race, sexuality, and religion? How come it is OK to hurt and kill people, because of the color of their skin, sexuality, or what religion they are? None of these things should make a difference of the kind of person they are.

The last time I checked we breathe the same air, drink the same water, and eat the same. We have the same emotions: laugh, cry, get angry, sad, feel pain when hurt, and get scared. Not sure what is different. I wonder how people would feel if it was turned around, and they were the ones' judged.

I am writing this article, because as an American I am ashamed at how some people think it is OK to treat people of different color (especially black), religion, and sexuality. I cannot believe in 2020 once again a black man George Floyd was killed by a police officer begging for mercy, while be recorded live, and nothing just let him die. Not one person stepped in to help, other officers just watched. Again, July 2014 Eric Garner killed live by New Police officers. Very similar situation. No one helped Eric Garner. Of course we cannot forget about Briana Taylor who was sleeping in her own home. There are so many more. When does this stop? When are we going to treat everyone the same? This has to stop.

If We Could See Through A Child’s Eyes

If we could see what a child sees

If we could remember the first time

We liked a taste, what we saw, and how it felt to play.

We would know how children feel.

If just once we could look through

A child’s eyes, we could feel excitement once more

If we could realize what everything we do

Or say around a child means,

And how it effects, them we might take a step back

Before doing it.

Children should not have to worry about what color skin they have, what religion they are, or who they choose to love.

We need to stop this now, this moment, this life, and turn the page to a new era.

On October 12, 1998 a young man Matthew Shepard was tortured, and killed, because he was gay. He was left for 18 hours in the frigid cold tied to a fence after being tortured. These crimes still continue as well. The list goes on about how many horrific crimes have happened, because of the hate in this world.

While I was writing this article I asked myself, "Do we really need anymore hate, do we really need to judge people, and when is it enough?" Again, I feel maybe the same people that put the hate out there in the world should try being judged, feel the pain these people have felt for hundreds of years, and feel how it feels not to belong.

Originally when started writing this article I wanted to bring out racism more than anything, because African American (black) people have suffered enough. Since 2020 turned around a week has not gone by without hearing about some form of racism. I remember going to the movies with my friend who is black to see "Straight Outta Compton." My stomach has never been so sick at what I had seen in that movie. WOW!!!! After my friend and I talked about the movie with each other. I could not believe that happened. We are from Boston, MA. and he said to me, "This happens all the time." He went on to saying that we have to act a certain way, be a certain way, and do things differently or we are judged. Tears started rolling down my eyes. This is my best friend, and I never knew what he goes through everyday.

Now I am not going to pretend to know how people who are judged feel everyday, because that is wrong. I would like others who are reading this story to listen with an open heart and mind. Spread the kindness, love, and peace into the world. Together we can make a difference.

Written by,

Cheryl A Nocera

guilty

About the Creator

Cheryl A Nocera

I am an educator, writer, photographer, and singer song writer. I have a podcast [email protected], and talk show CTS: Cheryl's Talk Show on Spotify I love to share & learn new things. Come join me on this adventure.

Cheryl A Nocera

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    CANWritten by Cheryl A Nocera

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.