Criminal logo

The Chilling Last Words of 20 Serial Killers

Their Last Words Windows To Their Souls

By Matthew JackPublished 9 days ago 7 min read
The Chilling Last Words of 20 Serial Killers
Photo by Ye Jinghan on Unsplash

As these 20 serial killers face their final moments, their last words can reveal striking insights into the darkest corners of their troubled minds. From remorseless quotes to the profoundly disturbing, these condemned criminals have left behind a haunting legacy through their last words. Let us explore the chilling last words of 20 of the most notorious serial killers in history (5 bonus Serial Killer Quotes in Video)

Jeffrey Dahmer: “I Don’t Care if I Live or Die”

Jeffrey Dahmer, the “Milwaukee Cannibal,” was known for his emotionless demeanor throughout his trial. True to form, his final words before being murdered in prison were equally cold and detached: “I don’t care if I live or die. Go ahead and kill me.”

Timothy McVeigh: “I Am the Master of My Fate”

Timothy McVeigh, the perpetrator of the Oklahoma City bombing, faced his execution with a sense of defiance. His final words, “I am the master of my fate. I am the captain of my soul,” were a chilling echo of the poem “Invictus” by William Ernest Henley. McVeigh saw his crimes as revenge against the government, and his last statement reflected his unwavering self-assurance.

Ted Bundy: “I’d Like You to Give My Love to My Family and Friends”

Ted Bundy, one of the most notorious serial killers in American history, confessed to murdering dozens of women. Yet, his final words were surprisingly simple and almost childlike: “I’d like you to give my love to my family and friends.” This unexpected statement served as a stark reminder that even the most depraved individuals are not entirely devoid of human emotion.

John Spenkelink: “Them Without The Capital Get The Punishment”

John Spenkelink, a convicted murderer, used his final moments to critique the death penalty, stating, “They without the capital get the punishment.” His words highlighted the controversial nature of capital punishment and the perceived injustice of the criminal justice system.

Robert Charles Comer: “Go Raiders”

Robert Charles Comer, a serial killer who showed little remorse for his actions, delivered a surprisingly casual final statement: “Go Raiders,” about his beloved NFL team, the Oakland Raiders. His carefree attitude in the face of his own execution was both chilling and absurd.

Peter Kürten: “Tell Me, After My Head Has Been Chopped Off, Will I Still Be Able to Hear at Least for a Moment the Sound of My Own Blood Gushing from the Stump of My Neck?”

Peter Kürten, known as the “Vampire of Düsseldorf,” Germany committed a series of gruesome murders in 1930s Germany. His final words were a disturbing reflection of his twisted desires, as he asked, “Tell me, after my head has been chopped off, will I still be able to hear at least for a moment the sound of my own blood gushing from the stump of my neck? That would be a pleasure to end all pleasures.”

Aileen Wuornos: “I’ll Be Back Like Independence Day, with Jesus, June Sixth, Like the Movie, Big Mothership and All”

Aileen Wuornos, a sex worker who killed seven men, expressed a delusional belief in her own divinity, stating, “I just like to say, I’m sailing with the rock, and I’ll be back like Independence Day, with Jesus, June sixth, like the movie, big mothership and all. I’ll be back.” Her grandiose final words revealed a disturbing messiah complex.

Roger Keith Coleman: “An Innocent Man Is Going to Be Murdered Tonight”

Roger Keith Coleman, convicted of murdering his sister-in-law, maintained his innocence until the end, declaring, “An innocent man is going to be murdered tonight. When my innocence is proven, I hope Americans will realize the injustice of the death penalty as all other civilized countries have.” His words highlighted the fallibility of the criminal justice system and the ongoing debate surrounding capital punishment.

Thomas J. Grasso: “I Did Not Get My Spaghetti O's. I Got Spaghetti. I Want the Press to Know This.”

Thomas J. Grasso, a convicted murderer, expressed his outrage over a minor detail in his final meal, stating, “I did not get my Spaghetti O's. I got spaghetti. I want the press to know this.” His petty final words served as a stark contrast to the gravity of his crimes, underscoring the absurdity that can sometimes accompany the end of a life.

Albert Fish: “I Don’t Even Know Why I’m Here”

Albert Fish, one of the most notorious serial killers of the early 20th century, exhibited a complete lack of remorse and understanding of his actions, stating simply, “I don’t even know why I’m here.” This chilling statement highlighted Fish’s profound detachment from reality and his inability to comprehend the gravity of his horrific crimes.

William Bonin: “I Would Suggest That When a Person Has a Thought of Doing Anything Serious Against the Law, That Before They Do That, They Should Go to a Quiet Place and Think About It Seriously.”

William Bonin, known as the “Freeway Killer,” expressed a rare moment of regret and remorse in his final words, stating, “I would suggest that when a person has a thought of doing anything serious against the law, that before they do that, they should go to a quiet place and think about it seriously.” His advice, though too late to undo his actions, served as a somber warning to others tempted by the path of violence.

Angel Maturino Resendiz: “I Want to Ask If It’s in Your Heart to Forgive Me”

Angel Maturino Resendiz, the “Railroad Killer,” initially displayed a chilling lack of remorse, declaring, “They want to see blood, and I give them blood.” However, in his final moments, his tone shifted dramatically, and he pleaded, “I want to ask if it’s in your heart to forgive me. Me. You don’t have to. I know I allowed the devil to rule my life.” This unexpected appeal for forgiveness provided a glimmer of humanity in the face of his horrific crimes.

James French: “Hey Fellas, How About This for a Headline for Tomorrow’s Paper, ‘French Fries"

James French, a convicted murderer, opted to deliver a darkly humorous final statement, quipping, “Hey fellas, how about this for a headline for tomorrow’s paper, ‘French Fries.’” His attempt at a pun in the face of his own execution demonstrated a surprising sense of fun, albeit one rooted in the macabre.

H.H. Holmes: “Yes, Don’t Bungle”

H.H. Holmes, one of America’s first serial killers, maintained his penchant for deception and personas until the end. When the executioner asked if he was ready, Holmes replied, “Yes, don’t bungle,” a chilling reminder of his calculated nature even in the face of his own demise.

Kimberly McCarthy: “This Is Not a Loss, This Is a Win. You Know Where I Am Going. I’m Going Home to Be with Jesus.”

Kimberly McCarthy, a convicted murderer who believed she was doing the Lord’s work, expressed a delusional belief in her own salvation, stating, “This is not a loss; this is a win. You know where I am going. I’m going home to be with Jesus.” Her final words revealed a twisted religious justification for her crimes.

Rosendo Rodriguez III: “I Have Fought the Good Fight. I Have Run the Good Race, Warden. I Am Ready to Join My Father.”

Rosendo Rodriguez III, known as the “Suitcase Killer,” invoked religious language in his final words, declaring, “I have fought the good fight. I have run the good race, warden. I am ready to join my father.” This statement hinted at a complex relationship with his own father, who had been an oppressive and abusive presence in his life.

John Wayne Gacy: “Kiss My Ass”

John Wayne Gacy, the notorious “Killer Clown,” remained defiant and unrepentant until the end, leaving the world with his final words: “Kiss my ass.” This crude and unapologetic statement served as a fitting epitaph for one of the most heinous serial killers in American history.

Israel Keyes: “You May Have Been Free. You Loved Loving Your Lie. Fate Had Its Own Scheme. Crushed Like a Bug, You Still Die.”

Israel Keyes, a serial killer, bank robber, and kidnapper, left behind a chilling final note that offered a scathing critique of society, stating, “You may have been free. You loved loving your lie. Fate had its own scheme. Crushed like a bug, you still die.” His words conveyed a sense of twisted superiority and a complete lack of remorse for his actions.

Tom Ketchum: “I’ll Be in Hell Before You Start Breakfast, Boys. Let Her Rip.”

Tom Ketchum, a famous train robber from New Mexico, embraced his outlaw persona to the end, declaring, “I’ll be in hell before you start breakfast, boys. Let her rip.” His defiant final words reflected his unwavering commitment to his criminal lifestyle, even as he faced the ultimate consequence.

Robert Alton Harris: “You Can Be a King or a Street Sweeper, but Everybody Dances with the Grim Reaper.”

Robert Alton Harris, convicted of kidnapping and murdering two teenage boys, delivered what may be the most profound final statement on this list, saying, “You can be a king or a street sweeper, but everybody dances with the Grim Reaper.” Though borrowed from the film “Bill & Ted’s Bogus Journey,” his words served as a sobering reminder of the universal fate that awaits us all.

Conclusion

These chilling last words of serial killers offer a haunting glimpse into the darkest recesses of the human mind. From the remorseless to the profoundly disturbed, these condemned criminals have left an indelible mark on our collective consciousness.

investigationincarcerationguiltycapital punishment

About the Creator

Matthew Jack

My 30-year law enforcement career fuels my interest in true crime writing. My writing extends my investigative mindset, offers comprehensive case overviews, and invites you, my readers, to engage in pursuing truth and resolution.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Matthew JackWritten by Matthew Jack

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.