Criminal logo

The Cake Was a Lie…

Story about a man who was rightfully accused and sentenced to death for his own insanity.

By Dani LucillePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

Well… looks like this is it. The day of my death has arrived at last. I’ve been on death row for so many years, I’ve lost count at this point. I’ve forgotten what my crime was, if I even had one to begin with. I sat alone in that cold, empty stone cell for what seemed like days. They had put us into the hardest prison to break out of. All the walls were lined with steel an inch thick in the already thick cement walls. All of the other inmates were screaming suddenly, yelling and throwing slurs left and right. I sat numbingly staring at the wall, waiting for my time to finally come. There was a loud metal click as the lock to my cage was unhinged. The door creaked open loudly as the guard came to collect me. My head lolled over to look at them. “It’s time.” I walked over with a hunch, grudgingly swaying as they clicked the handcuffs on my wrists. Way too tight for any sort of comfort. Walking slowly down the hall with my head down, there were many inmates screaming. Saying that I didn’t deserve the death sentence, that they were too harsh with my punishment. There were others that just watched me with a grin, glad to see me go at last. I had made a lot of friends in here before my trial, but I guess I made some enemies too. Away from all the inmates, as their screams and shouts became distant, everything became darker. You could smell the stench of death that emanated through the air. Toxic chemicals, burned flesh, and other odors you wouldn’t even want to identify.

They shoved me down the corridor with their batons to my back, creating bruises in large indents. It wouldn’t matter. I was going to be dead soon anyways. I wish I could see my family again. Don’t know if they’d want to see me though. I didn’t even know how I was going to die, let alone if I could see their faces one last time. Before I knew it, I was shoved harshly into a pitch black room. The lock on the door sounded with a harsh click as the deadbolt was set in the frame. I stood there in dark silence. Alone. Suddenly, a bright light flashed on from the center of the room. A… spotlight of some kind. There was a small table in the middle of the room. Just a table with a… a cake? Yes, I was seeing it right. Why the hell was there a cake here of all places? Did they put me in the wrong room?

I looked around and saw a large window above with what appeared to be observers. I didn’t recognize any of them. “What the hell is going on?” I say, my voice harsh and gravelled. I hadn’t spoken much since my sentence, and I had smoked for years before being thrown in this hell hole. “You never requested a final meal, nor were you offered one,” said a stern looking woman. “Thought this would make up for that.” I stared at her, confusion etched on my face. Was this some sort of trick? Or were they actually telling the truth? I didn’t know, but my mouth was salivating just looking at the decadent cake in front of me. It had been years, I don’t know how many, but many years since I had a piece of chocolate cake. It was expertly made, I can tell that much. It wasn’t made by the cafeteria workers, so it had to be one special made for me. A loud growl erupted from my stomach as I stared in wanting. I hadn’t eaten yet, and this was a meal that I had waited for years to have again.

I gave into temptation as the rich frosting coated my tongue, swirling together with the whipped cream and cherries that adorned it. The soft, pillowy cake melting in my mouth as I savored this delicious delicacy. I kept devouring the cake as my gluttony took over, greed overtaking my mind as I devoured the cake. Suddenly, I felt my throat start to close. I trembled violently as I fell to the floor, brown foam erupting from my mouth. As my eyes are rolling back into my skull, twitching limbs shaking stiffly and violently, the same stern woman walks up with loud footsteps. “John Adams, sentenced to death at 1500 hours and 3 minutes on October 13th 2025 for the murder of Sarah Adams, Viola Adams, and Joey Adams at Adams Plaza on July 20th 1998.”

Ah, that’s right. That’s why I’ve been in here so long. Why I’ve stayed here alone without any visitors. I killed my wife and two children. They were so small as I snapped their necks. This horrible memory caused by my own insanity. I deserved this. I’m so sorry my little flower, you should have grown and flourished… and I took that away from you. Tears in my eyes flowed freely as my body seized and fell limp on the ground, giving into the submission of death. I knew it… I knew the cake was too good to be true… the cake was… a lie?

incarceration
2

About the Creator

Dani Lucille

College student working and creating stories in my free time. Forensic Science major, expect a strange mix of different genres.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.