Criminal logo

TFrom Bricks to Briskets…

#2Real2bFaKE

By TheMillionDollarHeadDocPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
1
“Some things in life are just too real to be fake!!”

“Rogers… You’re on the chain!” Came a voice over the Harris County Jail intercom. My heart began to beat instantly, as i stood from my bottom bunk, startled by the off-guard turn of evens. The time was here.

I turned slightly, glancing down into the indoor picket. The jailer was looking up in my general direction as we locked eyes. I pointed at my chest, with a light gesture of… “who me!?” As he nodded his head as confirmation.

I turned to my bunk, bending to reach my storage box underneath. All while reaching to roll my mattress back to gather my personal belonging from underneath. Pictures, mail, stamped envelopes etc. I didn’t have much to pack.

The next thing i know. I was standing, handcuffed in line, next to a school bus. Only this one wasn’t yellow. It was white and Sky blue, with the word… “Bluebird”, down the sides.

Shortly after our board and departure. I was off into a deep sleep. Somehow the reality of seeing us leave civilization, heading to a maximum security prison unit, for a dope case, took a toll on my eyelids. I couldn’t fight it.

Sometime, into our commute. I was awakened by the Sound of the gears shifting under the bus as we maneuvered down the interstate highway. The metal window with holes gave you just enough of a view, to let you know, your vision didn’t matter at this point in time. The end goal was all that matter at this point.

I stared out the window, admiring the thousands of acres on display, for as far as I could see. Rows of agricultural covered the large plains but it was the Texas pride that had me so lock in. The livestock was beautiful; One in particular had me captivated. It was a massive, “Texas Longhorn Brahman bull”… raging amongst the others, with pure dominance on display.

From my 19 years of age at the time, clear on back to my youth. I had always heard… “That ain’t nothing but money!!” Came a voice from the older white guy, to my left, handcuffed in the seat with me. Echoing the exact sentiments running through my head.

I turned and gave him my attention momentarily, before turning to look back out the window, as he continued to speak very informatively. “Cowboy Tuff Chex”, a Guinness World Record-holding, longest longhorn, was bought for $165,000, at the Fort Worth Stockyard.” “While 3s Danica, went for $380,000, in Grapevine,Texas!” He stated.

Knowing he had my attention, he continued to speak, by saying. “But those are just your, once in a lifetime prize, show bulls that put the brand on the barn.” “But all those other cow’s, heifer’s and steer’s, are what keep the lights on.” He went on to say.

Without breaking may gaze from the view of the the passing scenic route, I Inquired… “How so?” Eager to oblige. He continued, relishing the moment to take a jab at my hustle.

“See, there’s only difference between a Dopeboy and a Cowboy… Prospective. See, a dopeboy will take one of them, little 1000 gram narcotic bricks, costing him 20 or 30 grand. Try to flip it and make a couple grand in profit, against the law! And will mess around and lose everything, maybe even his life, over the risk of it!” He continued, clearly stressing a point.

“But for ever one of them fellers there… you get paid from the hide, which is the leather skin. As well as the meat… and the milk. Think big picture! Think leather, think dairy, think beef… not to mention the prize shows and reproduction income. All profit! Calves start around a grand or two, depending on the bloodline.” He informed, with his, hypnotic, country twang.

From that day, his words never left me. That was 21 years ago. After doing a 10 year stretch, on a 17 year state sentence. I never forgot.

The world of possibilities are endless. I have been in the BBQ business, a touch over 7 years now. I specialize, in Award Winning Brisket. The money my food generates is a blessing.

Who would have ever thought, a conversation on a prison bus, would resonate and directly impact my livelihood, years later. A true testimony of admiration, meeting the ability to listen, learn and digest new information. I did that. If you are ever in Texas, check out Budd’s BBQ and ask for the Brisket, by way of our Prize Show bull … BRICKS!

incarceration
1

About the Creator

TheMillionDollarHeadDoc

Jack of all Master of a few.

#2Real2bFake!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.