Criminal logo

Mr. Can

Love gone right or wrong?

By William L. Truax IIIPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
monteiroleo

The room was blue, a pale blue and the man sitting there in the chair in the back corner of the room was worried that he was not going to be believed, that his story was not good enough to free him from the bonds that bind him. He sat there cuffed to the table, the metal table made a clinging noise like a pot falling on a linoleum floor. The sound was the only thing that was heard. There was no one entering the room from the door on the right, his sight limited to one hundred eighty degrees, where if he were able to spin there would be something more. There was however an open window on the left with bars dropping down on the remaining three. Why was the window open? He thought. But there too, he was awaiting an answer from someone.

Sitting there in that chair was highly uncomfortable, he felt as though he was the criminal and not the one seeking help from a crazed mother-in-law. Still he sat there waiting. He knew there would have to be some explanation of what all went on, but how would he be able to explain it to them, when he himself did not understand it. He sat there, rocking side to side, front to back. There was no way to get anyone to believe him, he was alone. Not even his own mother believed him, yet alone the mother-in-law.

His thoughts were jumbled, there was nothing that he could do. But how was he to survive this? Their questioning? Were he to be questioned? Or would this be an informal to give him a chance to state how his Ex-mother was after him. Would he be able to explain that he was heir to the fortune that his lover left him? He missed Octavius, he missed him dearly. He thought on to that night in his head and he still could not figure out how he was able to die without he too being killed.

A woman in a dark navy-blue suit entered and placed an envelope in front of him with pictures of his lovers’ dead body as well as one where he was still living. A picture that he took right after sex that one night. He thought back to it and smiled, the image of his lover kissing him right after and posing for a picture half naked with his short brown hair dipping into his eyes and a kiss that he blew. The smile left as the woman spoke.

“Mr. Can, do you know why you’re here?”

“No ma’am, I have been trying to get a restraining order against Cybil Amber, that was the mother of my deceased lover, Octavius.”

“You are here for Octavius Amber, but this is a general interview, everything here will be recorded and used in the actions of a crime that was commented on the thirteenth, zero one of this year. What can you tell me of this event?”

The man began to tear up and the woman gave it no notice.

“Well, to begin with, I will give you a complete day to explain everything in as much detail as I can.

“On the thirteenth, Octavius and I woke at about eight o’clock. He made me a killer breakfast of bacon, eggs, hash browns and coffee. He knew how to make my coffee exactly right, not even I could not do it nearly as well, nor have I been able to since his death. But that is neither here nor there, I laid in bed as the table lap was placed over me with a full two plates of food. He smiled at me and told me to wait as he went to grab his from the counter.

“As he reentered into the room I noticed that he had a burn on his left inner arm, like he placed the frying pan directly on his skin for the burn to be there, he told me that it was from the bacon that spurted on top of him. Like it was nothing to worry about, however, he smiled and placed his plate nest to mine on the bed that we shared and moved it just as he was about to sit.

“After breakfast, we got dressed and fooled around with each other slightly, just enough to tease, he was always excellent at that, anyway, we emerged on the corner of Mildred and Dreadful and began our walk toward the park on Syrex. It was only a few streets away, but we knew that things could get bad with us having to pass the only twenty-four-hour bar in the city. Since the mayor lifted the drinking time it has made it ridiculously hard for people like us to be out and about. Furthering on, we came upon the bar where he and I got stopped by a drunk spouting off hateful words. He went on a rampage seeing Octavius and I holding hands, he was saying this like, ‘you damn queers are ruining the world! Get a wife, dicks are for chicks!’

“There were other things that he said that I do not whish to repeat, but once we were able to get passed the man as he sat on a bar stool, we arrived at the park where we spent the day reading, contemplating different things. We did a variety of things as the day passed, we decided to out for dinner.

“Dinner was at MILF’s, it was an okay dinner, I have had better from them, but their policy on gays like my lover and I, I was astonished that they are still in business. They served us food from the floor and the server spit on Octavius’s and said, ‘There’s some AIDS for you!’

“Upon leaving, we went back to the apartment to relax and not deal with these conceded people. I told him jokingly on the that I’d help him hide the bodies. We both laughed when he was shot in the head. I have no idea where the shot came from, but he dropped to the ground and did not rise back up. I cried out his name until the ambulance got there and tear, the pain, the laughter, the name calling, the fact that my love had no more only maddened me…

“When a man called me by name and said that his whore of a wife was available to turn me straight, I reached out and punched his nose. I meant just to harm him to shut everyone up, but when he fell back too and did not rise back up, I worried myself. I did not mean to kill him, it was…I was just trying to shut them all up. Silence the noise. It was deafening, maddening, enough to kill oneself for being a way that is not normal.

“So, I sit here telling you these things in hopes that I can worry less and finally be free from this world. Take me to a place where someone will not harass someone for being the way that they are.”

Mr. Can placed his hands on the top of his balding head and rubbed it. The woman in the navy suit pulled out a pair of handcuffs and stated that he had to be processed until they can prove it was a maddening act. He nodded and extended his arms. The silver cuffs were placed around his wrists and tightened to where the woman thought he’d not break. She also believed that he was not the type to run, but face things head on. So she did not cuff his feet.

Two officers entered the room and took him away.

The man, Mr. Can, looked back at the woman and she noticed how the tears were falling like a waterfall and though she felt sorry for him and understood his loss, she had to arrest him because he killed someone.

Though now, she knew how her little brother died.

Fin…

** If you liked his story, let me know by sharing and hearting, I have many more and always writing. Tip me if you want more of these. **

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

William L. Truax III

Disabled Veteran, Father of 2.

I am a teller of tales and dreams, visions, haunting melodies, subtidal invocations of the mind and song.

Many of the Tales here interact with each other in some way and all within the same Universe.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.