Criminal logo

Majic

Mirrow Image

By Roger LowmanPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
Like

Majic

Mirrow Image

Chapter Three

- And the story continues....... I can't believe what an amazing day I had for my first day in the big city. Bridgette thought. I met the perfect gentleman this morning and had the most wonderful day. Oh what a blessing it was to be in the presence of such a powerful man. He moved with a swagger I didn't know existed for a black man. Nothing like the men that came calling on Mama or any of the men around Pine Bluff. It seemed as if he owned the entire city of Memphis. We ate, drank, partied and talked all day long getting to know each other. And I can't remember once seeing him pay for anything. He was so smooth it was like the street's belonged to him. Doors was opened for us, people moved when he said move, glasses were never empty when he was around and service was impeccable. He was the king I was seeking to be his queen. A man that was sure and confidant of his self and he was charming. I could get used to being with a man like him. I wonder why no one has claimed such a fine man. Well I guess they lost my gain, Bridgette thought as she continued to daydream about Stoney. Its late but I need to call my momma and let her know that I'm safe. I'm sure she is worried to death but I could see no other way to leave without her trying to talk me out of leaving. I loved her dearly but I have to make my own way in this world Bridgette reasoned as she dialed Dot number. "hello" Dot answer. " It's me momma" Bridgette replied. Bridgett girl where are you? I have been looking and calling all over town for you, hospital, police, funeral home, friends and family lookin -- " " slow down momma that's why I'm calling to let you know that I'm alright and I'm safe I'm sorry I left the way I did but you left me no other choice. "Bridgette explained. "I just want so much more for you Bridgette. so that you wouldn't end up like me working so hard to raise a child of your own I want you to get a good education meet a good God fearing man and raise me some grandkids." Dot said. "But momma I have met a wonderful man, nothing like the men in Pine Bluff. I don't know where our relationship will go, but I am sure there are some good men here in Memphis." "Memphis!!?" Dot exclaimed. "Girl you don't have a clue how to deal with them fast talking, smooth walking city slickers. Even if you're daddy was one of the most cunning, and deceptive men around, and I know it runs in your blood, but you can't trap or manipulate those city men like you did these country boy's. I am your mother, I know you was getting money from all the little hustlers around here, and I let you live your life. But you are in the big leagues now. And them mean streets will chew you up and spit you out." Dot said. "Yes momma I did what I had to make it in Pine Bluff. But you taught me to work hard for what I want and to use what I got to get what I need. I know my dad was a hustler and you was his main woman. I remember him showering me with gifts and you dressing me up in all the cute dresses. He called me his little princess, now it's time I become a Queen." Bridgette said. "Just be careful, and know that I am praying for you. You are my only child and I will always be there for you. No matter what you will always have a home here with me. Let me know if you need anything, because I am with you a hundred percent." Dot said full of emotion. As she realized she had to let her daughter go. And hope that the mean streets of Memphis wasn't too hard on her. "Thanks momma I'm fine right now. I plan on looking for a job in the morning so let me get some rest. I love you dearly and I will talk to you soon." Bridgette said as she hung up the phone tired from her full day and emotionally draining phone call. As she prepared for bed all she could think of was Stoney. When she finally laid down she slept with a smile on her face dreaming of a life as Stoney's Queen. Bridgette awoke early the next morning was dressed and out the door. She stopped at Stoney diner hoping for a glance of the man of her dreams. She ate and looked through the help wanted ads. She found a couple of places she wanted to apply for a job. She left and found a map of the city and begin the process of looking for a job. After a long day of bus rides and walking, her feet was sore but she kept a smile on her face and continued to fill out applications for jobs all over Memphis. She was tired and resting her feet when she noticed a help wanted sign across the street. She walked over and entered the small building where a man was talking on the phone and trying to do some paper work as other phones continued to ring. She waited until he noticed her standing there then she spoke. "You look like you could use some help." She stated. "I can!" The man replied. As phones continued to ring. "Are you here to help?" He asked. "Yes I need a job if that's what you are asking." Bridgette said. "Can you type?" He asked. Yes fifty five words per minute " she replied. "You have a country accent but a pleasant voice so I'm sure you can answer the phone. Problem is I need you to start work immediately, can you handle that?" He asked. "Yes I would be glad to start now but what would my salary be?" She asked. "The way things are going for me right now you can right your own checks. Just start answering these calls. This is my realty company. Make appointments for anyone who wants to see property around town." He informed her. "I can do that." Bridgette said as she got comfortable and begin her first day of work. Once the day was over she was very proud of what she had accomplished in such a short period of time. It's as if she was meant to be here in this wonderful city. Bridgette caught on quick to her duties at the office which sometimes took her all over the city. She had been only working a few days when her boss sent her out to check on a piece of property. As she rode to meet the owner of the property Stoney was still heavy on her mind it was as if she was always looking for him or waiting for him to pull up and sweep her off her feet and ride off into the sunset in his Cadillac. As she entered the Establishment she noticed what a prime piece of property it was and the potential it has to be a real money maker. After speaking with the owner and taking some notes. She scheduled an appointment with the owner to come and have a visit with her boss. She took a few pictures of the outside of the building and did the same inside. When she was finished she was back on the bus and on her way to the lawyers office to drop off some forms and pick up some paper's for her boss to sign. Once inside she has to go through the waiting process. Fifteen minutes later she was out the door and on her way unbeknown to her that the man of her dreams was right there in the office....

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.