Criminal logo

like a red apple

like a red apple

By Griselda DauerPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like

My mother's body is neither fat nor thin, neither tall nor short. Her hair is dyed blonde and she always wears it in a ponytail, which is most convenient. Face round, like a red apple. Under the curved eyebrows set a pair of eyes like black gems, a high nose has a small mouth, can talk.

Mom loves to nag. Every morning when I go to school, my mother will always tell me: "Junbo, you should listen attentively in class, don't whisper with your deskmate, don't do small gestures, OK?" I nodded: "I know!" "And be careful when you cross the street. Look both ways before you walk, do you hear me?" Mom kept talking. "Yes, yes! I agreed a little impatiently. "Junbo, are you warm? Is it cold?" Mother is still nagging. I think what she says is sometimes useful and sometimes not.

Mom is not only a nag but also a showman. Every time after sending me to study, she would go shopping to buy clothes and cosmetics. Often carry a big bag of clothes, in front of the mirror one by one to try on, but also from time to time to ask my father how good. When her mother's colleagues invited her to dinner, she would take makeup to dress herself in front of the mirror, draw eyebrows, apply lipstick, spray perfume, and make a long gesture in front of the mirror before she would go out. She wouldn't even go to a meeting without dolling herself up.

My mother is also very hardworking. I do some cleaning at home on weekends, sweeping the floor, mopping the floor, wiping the table, and taking out the garbage. She would also go to the market to buy my favorite food and cook it for me.

My mother makes me happy sometimes, but also makes me sad sometimes. However, I know that mother scold me also for my good. I love Mom.

We have many festivals in China, such as: Spring Festival, Dragon Boat Festival, Lantern Festival... But my favorite festival is the Spring Festival that rings in the New Year.

When I was very young, I had a question: Why is there a Spring Festival? My mother told me: a long time ago, there was a monster named "Nian" on the earth, and every year on the first day of the first month, people would give a boy and a girl to him to eat, but people would not yield, they found that "Nian" was afraid of red and firecrackers. So when "Nian" came again, everyone used these things to scare "Nian" away. Since then, people have passed down this custom!

People make dumplings at Spring Festival. In our house, I roll the noodles, my brother wraps the stuffing, and grandma cooks the dumplings. Ouch! By the way, people also light firecrackers. Last time, we set off firecrackers at Grandma's house. First I, second cousin, third cousin, fourth cousin and cousin each a "Gatling". I hold Gatling and wait for the countdown. "Three! Two! One! Here we go!" Suddenly "Gatling" is like a dragon, and fireworks are the flame of the dragon, just five of us have been shot, so the sky of fireworks make the mother who takes photos below sigh: "The Red Cliff war is no more than that." For a while, the fireworks are almost gone, and the rest of the fireworks are just like yawning in the shooting. Next is the "not dead bird" fireworks, this fireworks can be powerful, it has three forms! The first form: cannon. It shot a few fireworks to the sky, suddenly the sky seemed to hit a few thunder in general, really loud drop! The second form: Christmas tree. It shoots left and right, turning it into a tree. The third form: whirlpool form. It creates a gold vortex on the ground.

Spring Festival is really interesting. It has unique customs that people can't forget. I love you Spring Festival.

cartel
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.