Criminal logo

Law School Murders: Entire Philosophy

Kim settles into her role as law professor.

By Skyler SaundersPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
2
Law School Murders: Entire Philosophy
Photo by Giammarco Boscaro on Unsplash

“Who has questions for me?”

“Yes, professor. What was it like to be embroiled in two murder cases and get off scot free?”

“I think it was a realization. I realized that I am not above the law just because I had a badge or was training to be an FBI agent. I knew there had to be a way for me to see the difference between being a law enforcement officer and the one accused. I had to come to the conclusion that I was going to have to face justice. Because of the facts of reality, I was able to be cleared of both crimes because they had nothing to do with me.”

By Mikhail Pavstyuk on Unsplash

A blonde woman, 22, stood up to ask a question.

“Hi, Professor Jergensen. What was the case in the QR Code Murders that made you think that you had cracked it?”

“We had an informant. He had matched up two codes and we just went, not on a hunch, but with rational understanding that we could link all of the murders back to one person and then another. If you want to discover what you want, you have to survey the landscape and bring to light what other people choose to disguise. With the Code cases, we knew that someone was doing all of this to undercut and undermine the youth in Wilmington. People blamed the music they were making when it was envy that had caused the homicides. At root is emotionalism and a disgust for the good. Watch out for that.”

Another hand raised. Blue black woman, 21.

“Is there any validity that you talked with the CO who killed Susan Bakerton?”

By Clarisse Meyer on Unsplash

“That is true. I spoke with him almost every day. That’s how I knew the case would explode wide open with the testimony. I knew that Goro was engaged in an affair with Susan. He’d drop subtle hints and then go back over his story and laugh. There was cause for him to be able to appreciate the fact that he was getting away with for so long. When she finally accused him of impropriety, he knew he was already going down a dark path. Because we had exchanged pleasantries, he thought he could move in on me. I protested and reminded hin that I could render him unable to procreate. That’s when things got dicey. He reported me to the warren and said I had forced myself on him before he locked me up. Such was never the case. I let it be known he was the predator. But they didn’t see it that way. So, a court case and it was murder. Once more.”

A young man, olive skin green eyes, 22, raised his hand.

“How did you deal with your celebrity status? Do you still get hounded?”

“It’s not as much anymore. In this state of Delaware, there aren’t a lot of media outlets. But I didn’t mind it because I was in the right. I knew the evidence against me but I still treated the case as if I wasn’t in the spotlight. There were TV specials and book deals but after all the news vans and reporters left, they evaporated as well. A few podcasts here and there contributed to the story and mostly defended me.”

By Iñaki del Olmo on Unsplash

Another question came to the floor. There seemed to be a clarity in her voice. She was light skinned with short hair. 20.

“Who did you depend upon to fight this case? Besides your lawyer of course.”

“I have a dear friend who looked out for her wisdom. She’s nearly half my age but introduced me to an entire philosophy that propelled me to continue in a way that would suit my life and sustain it. We have a rapport that can never be broken. We know it and we know each other.”

fiction
2

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

I’ve been writing since I was five-years-old. I didn’t have an audience until I was nine. If you enjoy my work feel free to like but also never hesitate to share. Thank you for your patronage. Take care.

S.S.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.