Criminal logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Law School Murders: Almost Cold

Kim sits with the dean.

By Skyler SaundersPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Law School Murders: Almost Cold
Photo by Sigmund on Unsplash

The office of the dean looked stately and staid. It featured few if any modern furniture. A desktop computer was the only sign of the twenty-first century. Kim sat across from Heather Boskin. As a sixty-three-year old grandmother, she had gray hairs in her dark brown hair that matched her dark brown skin.

“Kimberle, you’re going to want to be as transparent as possible with this information.”

By Sora Sagano on Unsplash

“One of my students is trying to kill me. I know I should’ve said something earlier. But I wanted to investigate for myself.”

“Still pulling your detective maneuvers,” Heather smiled faintly.

By Sigmund on Unsplash

“Yes, ma’am.”

“We can enlist the campus police as well as the city and county. If we have to escalate to the state or FBI, we can do that, too.”

“Of course.”

“I just wanted to ask…do you have any clue as to who this might be?”

“I have one student in mind, but I think she’s a red herring,” Kim related.

“You’re probably right. Has this student approached you privately?”

“Yes she has.”

“She?”

“Yes, ma’am.”

“You think it’s a female?”

“The report from the ME said it was a black female. This young woman came to me after-hours to discuss her work. I noticed her hands and her eye movements and her voice. Nothing seemed off. She encountered me again and same thing.”

“Let me tell you a story. My first year as a public defender, my client wanted to become romantically involved with me. I knew he was coming onto me and I had to stop it. I had to be firm and professional and let him know that I was not going to entertain such behavior. He stopped. Did you in class let everyone know that their actions could mean serious consequences?”

By Samuel Regan-Asante on Unsplash

Kim rubbed her hands together. It was the first time she felt vulnerable in years. Even with the time behind bars, she didn’t feel uncomfortable because of her innocence. This was different. This was ignorance. She had no idea what to make of the threat.

“I just wanted to investigate on my own and not let on that I knew there was anyone out there who wanted to do me harm,” Kim explained.

“What we will do is interview each student—”

“Ma’am, I don’t think that’s necessary.”

“I certainly do. If anyone threatens a member of faculty or a student, they will be dealt with head on, and without delay,” she said. Her voice seemed hard and even. There was even a coolness to it, almost cold.

Kim felt that the dean sincerely cared for her situation. It was like a maternal sensitivity applied to the situation. She welcomed it.

“I thank you for that, ma’am.”

“We’re going ro ensure that everyone is free from harm on this campus. We’re going to discover who is making these threats. And we’re going to do this swiftly.”

By Sangga Rima Roman Selia on Unsplash

Kim felt a surge of genuine comfort. What she felt was something deeper and simpler at the same time. As she got up to leave, the dean stopped her at the door.

“You know who that client became?”

“No.”

“He’s my husband.”

Kim was floored. She should’ve known better about the revelation. She put her detective hat back on and opened the door. She went to her office where Miss Nova was standing outside her door. Kim wanted to keep the sense that she could master the narrative again. She sighed, “I should have known.” Then she addressed the student.

“Miss Nova, what may I help you with now?” Her voice was buoyant, almost bouncy. It was almost like she was testing her.

fiction

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

I’ve been writing since I was five-years-old. I didn’t have a wide audience until I was nine. If you enjoy my work feel free to like but also never hesitate to share. Thank you for your patronage. Take care.

S.S.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Kenny Penn5 months ago

    Well, that was an interesting twist! Great story!

Skyler SaundersWritten by Skyler Saunders

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.